We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Brasserie at the Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Brasserie is within a superb complex of new rennovated barns adjacent to the A65 near Settle.Open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. Mixing contemporary interiors, an open plan kitchen and traditional barns we serve modern English and European cuisine. Seasonal events run throughout the year. Disabled access and ample free parking.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stopped off on our way to Bainbridge, nearly didn't and what a mistake that would have been.

The starter, Winter Vegetable soup was very tasty, the portion generous.

Main course was Sunday lunch, Roast Beef, again very tasty and another generous portion.

We took away a doughnut as too full to eat there.

The restaurant is part of a complex with a few shops, very nice and delightful.

We just stopped off, in future we WOULD book. Excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank football_spoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stop-off at The Brasserie. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    29
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch but never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We thought we'd have a drive out as we have been before for sandwiches and really enjoyed it however that wasn't the case today. I had Sunday lunch with the beef and found the Beef to be far too rare I wasn't asked beforehand and it was cold when served. My partner had the mixed grill with lamb rump and rump steak and it was the worse rump we have both tasted ever it didn't even taste like steak or lamb. My partner didn't make a fuss in the restaurant but upon paying did complain quietly and we had £5 knocked off the bill, I can't see us going again in a hurry which is a shame as we were about to book for valentines but very disappointed to what could be such a good place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I have met with our Head Chef this morning as he spoke with you both yesterday. We are glad that you raised your points direct with him at the time of your visit and that we were able to make recompense to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My Mother and I stopped off for lunch at the Brasserie recently. We didn't book (advisable) so had to wait for a table, this was no problem as there are so many beautiful shops in the Courtyard - including a fantastic cheese shop which is tiny but has a lot of choice.

We had a great meal which was complimented by a crisp, dry, Pino (supplied by the on site wine shop.) The staff were all very attentive and we had a lovely chat about the local area with the young waiter.

The only thing that could have made the whole experience nicer would have been a wider selection of vegetarian meals as I am a veggie and whilst I was happy with the selection, I imagine if I were local and a regular the choice could be quite limiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to post this.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at The Courtyard and The Brasserie - for future, we are very happy for our customers to 'go off menu' for any items, but particularly vegetarians or special diet options provided the kitchen has time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We met up with friends for lunch on December 27th. This was my second visit to the Courtyard, having enjoyed a very enjoyable game evening in October. The whole setting of the Courtyard and its shops oozes quality and individuality. The wine shop and cheese shop in particular are second to none, staffed by extremely knowledgeable staff. The Gallery has some very high quality gift items and the interiors shop is to die for.
So why oh why does the restaurant serve gorgeous fish with oven chips and frozen peas??? You have a full working kitchen! Why can't you cook your own chips? Such a let down. Come on! You can do better than that! Don't let the place down with such poor quality food!
Very disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you spoke to our Brasserie Manager during your visit so that we were able to modify your bill. Unfortunately we had run out of our fresh bread loaves due to a tremendously busy Monday morning and early lunch service and despite additional bread being in the oven, this was not ready in time for your visit. Service during extremely busy periods in both the kitchen and front of house has been reviewed and we hope that we have now covered for all eventualities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great chowder, but disappointing overall”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I read with envy the lovely fresh bread enjoyed by previous diners at the Brasserie. My wife and I both had the seafood chowder, which was fantastic (and the only thing saving this review from a "terrible" rating). Instead of the delicious sounding bread roll on the menu, we were served thin sliced brown supermarket bread...the stuff that costs £1 a loaf at Tesco. They had run out....at 13.30 on a Monday?!! We also shared a chicken sandwich which was claimed to be on granary bread. I know cheap supermarket ready sliced brown bread when I see it, and that's what it was.

We waited 25 minutes for a table as it was stated they were very busy. Not a problem as we explored the other attractions on offer. The service was friendly but disorganised. There were clearly staffing issues in the kitchen. There seemed to be a good staff to customer ratio in the restaurant but this wasn't reflected in the service. When our order was taken (after some delay) we were then informed that there would be a 20-25 minute wait for food as the kitchen was busy. Considering the dining room was only 2/3 full, this was a bit of a mystery.

We travelled some distance to visit the brasserie and this is unlikely to be repeated given this lacklustre performance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you spoke to our Brasserie Manager during your visit so that we were able to modify your bill. Unfortunately we had run out of our fresh bread loaves due to a tremendously busy Monday morning and early lunch service and despite additional bread being in the oven, this was not ready in time for your visit. Service during extremely busy periods in both the kitchen and front of house has been reviewed and we hope that we have now covered for all eventualities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie at the Courtyard also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Brasserie at the Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing