We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!!”

Brasserie at the Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Settle
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Brasserie is within a superb complex of new rennovated barns adjacent to the A65 near Settle.Open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. Mixing contemporary interiors, an open plan kitchen and traditional barns we serve modern English and European cuisine. Seasonal events run throughout the year. Disabled access and ample free parking.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I first reviewed The Courtyard on Dec 27, despite having been a regular visitor since it opened. Staying at my Father's for Easter we visited for brunch Easter Sunday. I'm very partial to the sausage sandwich on granary bread so why was it served on sliced supermarket cheap bread? (See review left on 30 Dec)!! Why is this still happening?? My Father made mention that him and his partner visited for Sunday lunch recently and why at 12.30 was there no lamb left!!! How can you serve a Sunday lunch menu and have run out of lamb before Sunday lunch has barely started!! Being elderly they didn't like to complain or make a fuss!! I'm only sorry I wasn't with them!!' Is this the sign of things to come!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stiletto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for contacting us direct on email as well as Tripadvisor and our Brasserie Manager has been in touch with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    65
    32
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely pit stop before the lakes!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch here!
Varied lunch and excellent service. Great location and the ideal pit stop before driving up to the lakes.

Helpful?
Thank rosegrove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again next time you are passing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Over priced.Poor choice of vegetables.Vegetarian options lacking imagination and quality.Best to order from normal menu. Good coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am unsure what you are and what menu you ordered from so if you would like to get in touch with a little more information then do feel free - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have been to this restaurant twice before and enjoyed our meals. Yesterday we found it quite different. My husband ordered the Sunday roast which was brisket. He was told the meat was cooked 'medium' - it was actually very rare and therefore tough and inedible. When it was served my husband remarked that it looked tough and the waitress said 'let me know' - we never saw any serving staff again until the manageress collected our plates.She made no comment at all the meat left on the plate until my husband pointed out that it was not fit to eat. She took it up with the chef, apologised profusely and deducted the main course from our bill. This is fair enough but it was a dining experience ruined. We would expect any chef to know that brisket must be cooked long and slow. Even the cheese board was not up to the standard of previous occasions. We would add that my meal was very good - I had the sea bass - and this blip with the meat will not stop us from returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wellsatisfied22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that the pink meat in the roast will not stop you coming back again. We always welcome regular customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stopped off on our way to Bainbridge, nearly didn't and what a mistake that would have been.

The starter, Winter Vegetable soup was very tasty, the portion generous.

Main course was Sunday lunch, Roast Beef, again very tasty and another generous portion.

We took away a doughnut as too full to eat there.

The restaurant is part of a complex with a few shops, very nice and delightful.

We just stopped off, in future we WOULD book. Excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank football_spoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stop-off at The Brasserie. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie at the Courtyard also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Brasserie at the Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing