We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, welcoming pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Arms

Talbot Arms
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently moved to the area and can genuinely say that the Talbot has contributed towards making Settle feel like my new home.
The polite, cheerful staff are a clear indication of a well run establishment and I'm made to feel extremely welcome when I visit for food, a pint or to read the paper with a coffee.
The atmosphere is always wonderful... A cosy fire in winter and a sunny beer garden for warmer days.
There's always a good mixture of locals and visitors contributing to the friendly environment.
I would highly recommend the Talbot as a place to eat, drink, relax and socialise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rubadashmanshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    135
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not worth the journey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited the Talbot Arms on a fairly quiet Sunday night, We ordered quickly, 4 prawn cocktail starters, 2 fish pie and 2 steak and ale pie. We waited a while for the starters which to be honest for £4.95 each really were not worth it, a bit of lettuce, a slice of cucumber cut into quarters a few prawns in a sauce on top,a slice of lemon. typical 1970's presentation!!! the bread and butter was good though.The fish pie was slightly lacking in fish but did come with some lovely chips and a nice portion of well cooked vegatables. The steak and ale pie, mash and vegatables was well received although one of our party could have done with more gravy-a little jug of extra gravy would have been a nice touch. We had reserved a table, which could have done with a proper clean and the seating definately needs re-upholstering. All in all a rather disappointing evening to say it had been recommended to us, we felt it didnt live up to much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janetteSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morcambe
1 review
“Polished to Perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Recently ate lunch here with a couple of friends, food was great, although Ploughman's could do with a few different cheeses rather than just the one. Bar staff were friendly, and the pub had a lovely atmosphere. Definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank elks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home made food with decent beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Sought out The Talbot after reading other reviews. It is a friendly, unpretentious pub with a nice log burner. Almost everything on the menu is home made, and, judging by our choices, delicious. They also keep a good selection of real ales. Prices are really reasonable too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Good Town Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A couple of years ago the Talbot was refurbished by the current owners. It is now charming, bright and cheerful with friendly staff. It specialises in well kept hand pulled beers of which a good range is kept. The menu is very limited and simple but what there is, is good value and well prepared. A really nice small town pub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyKingSettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talbot Arms also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Talbot Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing