We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Soup was Horrible!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppies Tea Room

Poppies Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“The Soup was Horrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The interior of the cafe is not very inspiring. The courgette soup we had was gloopy, lumpy and tasted horrible. The beef sandwich, however, was well filled. The two young female servers were friendly enough, but their boss seemed bored and disinterested in what was going on in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppiestearoom, Owner at Poppies Tea Room, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
And yet you said nothing of this whilst you were with us!! You have also declined the opportunity to contact me directly to allow us to try to resolve these issues, so I see this review as a little pointless!
However, I will address the remarks that you made. The lovely interior of Poppies has been commented on many times, both here and in person, so I fail to understand this. The walls are hung with original art work, as well as displays of hand made crafts and locally turned wooden furnishings, all of which we sell for local charities. Being an integral part of our local community is something that we take seriously, as well as very much enjoy, at Poppies.
The Courgette and Mint soup is original and home made and was very popular that day. It is not the heavily processed, watery rubbish you get from a tin. Although if this is what you wanted, we could have popped out and purchased some for you.
'Bored and disinterested', or 'calm and relaxed during a busy lunch time, confident in his team and the quality of service and produce that they offer'? The later, I think.
But as I say, if you'd mentioned these points whilst actually in Poppies, we could have told you this at the time.
With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Just a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just nipped in for a pot of tea, pleasant staff, nicely decorated place, food looked good, massive scones, two veggie specials at lunchtime

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

A group of us motorcyclists met at Settle today and spotted the Poppies Tearooms billboard.
What a pleasant treat, a bit off the beaten track but well worth looking for.
We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppiestearoom, Owner at Poppies Tea Room, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back!! Thank you, for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited Poppies cafe for lunch today on our visit to Settle. It's worth making the effort to find this cafe down the little lane to the side of "the larger cafe in town!" The staff are all really pleasant, welcoming & efficient.
We had soup & sandwich / toasted sandwich with salad. The soup was homemade & really tasty. The toasted sandwich was large packed with filling & I can't imagine why previous reviewer had a problem with the salad as it was beautiful!! Mixed leaves, toms, cucumber, peppers,chives & seeds....what more could you possibly want inc Mayo etc?? (Not normal to expect salad dressing in a cafe IMO)
Tea for two was plentiful and the cakes to die for ....all looked delicious inc scones. Can recommend rocky road if you're a choc-a-holic like me.
Girls wipe down tables with anti-bac after each customer so it's definitely clean here.
A small independent café serving fresh well cooked food ....definitely recommended
Small recommendation:- slightly more lively music or radio to make atmosphere bit more upbeat :)
Thanks for lovely lunch

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppiestearoom, Owner at Poppies Tea Room, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Poppies again soon!!
With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for Special Dietary Needs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Eating out with a family member who is both diabetic and coeliac can be a nightmare . Usually there are very limited choices on offer. We were surprised if not stunned by the wide variety of choices at Poppies. Not only was the soup gluten free, but they provided gluten free bread as well. The menu was very clear and well laid out. The staff were knowledgeable and efficient. There were as many g/f cakes to choose from as there were "normal" ones. Salads were excellent. The cafe itself is extremely clean and well furnished with blue cloths under the glass topped tables, and the courtyard in front is a real suntrap. Anyone with special dietary needs who has scanned a restaurant menu for something suitable to eat will understand why we were so impressed with Poppies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Tea Room also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Poppies Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing