We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth the journey”

The Courtyard, Settle
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Courtyard opened in May 2012 and was created from a stunning group of traditional barns on the A65 just outside Settle in the Yorkshire Dales.The Courtyard stands apart from the hustle and uniformity of the high street. Visit us to experience true craftsmanship, to be moved by wonderful art, to explore a discerning selection of beautiful things to enhance your home and lifestyle and dine in our Brasserie.The Courtyard is ideally located by the A65 just outside the market town of Settle, with plenty of free car parking and disabled access.Buon Vino - specialist wine retailer - the best from the world's organic, biodynamic and small producersDalesbred - beautifully bespoke furniture, soft furnishings and upholstery - designed and made in the Yorkshire DalesThe Courtyard Dairy - offering the very best local, national and European artisan and small farm produced cheesesThe Lime Gallery - find culture right at the heart of nature with art and objects of beauty to inspire and exciteAbraham Moon - celebrating 175 years of British heritage, British design and find Yorkshire craftsmanship with their exclusive range of menswear, ladieswear and home furnishingsThe Brasserie - offers a tempting mix of classic and modern food served all day, every day with events throughout the year and bookable for private parties and functions
Ilkley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well worth the journey”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Visited The Courtyard today and had spent a lovely couple of hours. Lunch in the Brasserie was excellent value for money, great surroundings and attentive but not intrusive service. The lady in the cheese shop ( a gem of a find!! and do mail order!!) was great fun,very informative, lots of free 'tastes' and left with a laden carrier bag. Great artwork in the Lime Gallery and the lady in Dalesbred - not the owner and sorry I don't have your name, sat and chatted with us for half an hour again very informative, great ideas, not at all pushy and helped me sort through a few ideas for revamping a room at home. Would recommend and definatley go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CavendishIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at The Courtyard, Settle, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Courtyard - your feedback has been passed on to all the retailers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality produce”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stopped here on the way to Giggleswick in February. I bought brie and biscuits for a friend. The selection of cheese is first class and there are plenty of gourmet items to choose from. It's true you get what you pay for and here you are buying into a top food experience. My friend loved the cheese and it's always nice to by such lovely food in such lovely surroundings with friendly people attending to you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrabusLimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at The Courtyard, Settle, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Many thanks for your review which has been passed on to Andy, Kathy and the team at The Courtyard Dairy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great cheese”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went there to buy cheese and it was fabulous. We were able to sample before we purchased and also bought pickled olives and homemade crackers. A great meal with wine!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ragamuffin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at The Courtyard, Settle, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Many thanks for your review which has been passed on to Andy, Kathy and the team at The Courtyard Dairy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake district, england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit for the Brasserie and the waitress from Budapest”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to The Courtyard to visit Abraham Moon and despite low levels of stock we were not disappointed. Wonderful quality, we will return. Assistant friendly and helpful. The Brasserie upstairs was spacious and the furnishings by Moon superb. Relaxed for longer than we can usually sit still for - definately will return if just for the relaxation in a very pleasant setting. The waitress was polite, efficient and friendly. My salmon salad was superb. Husbands gammon was fine and mother's soup excellent. Portions quite sufficient. On paying the bill the waitress was quizzed. Definately not an accent from Yorkshire... she was from Budapest and she politely told me it was quite different in Settle. A very nice waitress.
The lady in the wine shop was extremely friendly - pity we don't drink as there were samples offered. Gift shop well presented as is the interior design shop. Cheese shop is a must. A wonderful aroma hits you on entering. They sell nice olive wood cheese boards. All in all we enjoyed the 1 hour drive and would definately return for the restaurant alone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at The Courtyard, Settle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Abraham Moons first retail shop at The Courtyard. Because space is limited we do aim to change stock as often as possible and so we hope we can show you something different when you return. Thank you for enjoying our Yorkshire tweed as much as we do!

The other retailers were also very heartened to see your feedback and positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as we had hoped”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whilst visiting my mother-in-law in Lancaster and knowing that the only dedicated Abraham Moon shop was based at The Courtyard, and because I love Moon fabrics but struggle to find retailers, we decided to all pay a visit along with my husband and two teenage boys. My husband was also interested in looking for a modern tweed jacket. The lure for the boys was the high quality full English breakfasts on offer in the Brasserie until 12noon. We arrived in time for the FEB and early light lunches and coffees for the rest of us. Very lovely upstairs space in The Brasserie, well planned and with lots of lovely furnishings from Moons plus amazing felt landscapes on the walls. Lunch was enjoyable but boys wishes the sausages and bain was better cooked. Then I visited Moons downstairs which was small and rather disappointing. I had expected clothing plus rolls of furnishing fabrics to peruse through and lots of Moon fabric swatches to enjoy. But instead there was just some jackets, caps, throws and cushions and the shop was v small and a few fabric books. I think much more stock would have been better but perhaps the volume of sales do not justify more stock. Also visited the art allery and the interior design shops, both enjoyable to wander through and staff were friendly. The Brasserie Shop ( in left corner by entrance) which in earlier TA reviews seems to have been either a chocolate shop or a cafe was closed and empty. Did not visit the cheese shop or the wine shop. Boys enjoyed their lunch and then went to play with our two dogs in the neighbouring field. Not really worth the 1hour journey although the scenery along the way was spectacular. A pleasant outing and my mother-in-law thinks she will visit again with a few of her friends for the Brasserie but not the shops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyHardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at The Courtyard, Settle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for visiting Abraham Moons first retail shop at The Courtyard. I am sorry you were disappointed by the size of the shop but we do endeavour to display as many items which represent the cloth produced at our mill in the space available. We are unable to display rolls of our fabric as it is woven to order on production schedules at our mill but the full range of pattern books for Moon furnishings are on display in the shop from which we will happily order any number of swatch samples for our customers. I do hope you will visit us again as our stock changes frequently and also continue to enjoy our unique brand of woven Yorkshire cloth.
Carolyn Kelly - Abraham Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard, Settle also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Courtyard, Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing