We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good - very close to excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Good - very close to excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Taking the in laws for a week to North Yorkshire to include a trip on the Settle to Carlisle Railway, following various reviews we chose to stay in the Lion at settle.
Our bedroom was very comfortable, the service very friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent (made sure we booked a table each morning to ensure availability).
The location for exploring the dales, and having a day on the steam train was ideal (a tip if you go on the train, Carlisle isn't the best place to spend 2 hours in!).
A couple of negatives; Free Wi-fi is only available in the bar area and even then isn't that brilliant, and the hotel is right on the street and heavy lorries passing by are quite noisy.
Overall though the positives out weigh the negatives and I would recommend The Lion at Settle to others

Room Tip: Ask for a lower numbered room at the rear away from the outside drinking area and road if you want l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobymahowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay here at The Lion. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will look into the WiFi situation to see how we can improve it. Unfortunately as we are a listed building we cannot have WiFi up in the rooms, but I will definitely look into how we can improve it.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    161
    40
    23
    11
See reviews for
80
205
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Lion is a lovely building with good architecture and a grand staircase up to the bedrooms. The focus, however, seems to be on the pub (and, especially, its food) rather than the accommodation. Our double room was fine, if a little tight for space. We were told we would have to wait at least an hour for dinner because they were so busy. In reality, there were several spare tables but insufficient staff to cope - so we had excellent fish and chips at a local take-away instead. The worst aspect of our stay was the excessive noise from loud drinkers, swearing and singing in the courtyard until long after midnight. When we mentioned this to a member of staff at breakfast she simply shrugged her shoulders and pointed towards the customers who she thought had been responsible. To make things worse, on checking out, the staff member tried to charge us considerably more than the rate we had agreed online in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I will have a look into what happened with the member of staff who shrugged her shoulders at you; this is not the way we deal with complaints/comments here at The Lion so I do apologise for that.

We do take restaurant reservations which would have guaranteed you a table with us, instead of going out to eat somewhere else. Also when you checked in with us, you would have been shown a registration card and you would have been asked to check and sign, this shows the rate per night and if there was a problem we would have changed it there and then for you.

Thank you for your comments, I hope this doesn’t put you off staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our visit to Settle for my daughter's wedding was made all the more pleasant by a stay at the Lion. The staff were so helpful (particularly George and Tom) by making sure we had everything we needed and when asked if an elderly member of the family could have breakfast in her room she was even treated to a bucks fizz as were we, to get the bride's day off to good start!

Food was of a good quality and served quickly. All the rooms we booked (9 in total) were clean, roomy and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holsareforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I will pass these comments onto George and Tom. I am pleased our staff was so helpful during your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary at the lion in settle. We had a great stay and would recommend the charming inn. The hotel was very welcoming and fresh milk on arrival was a nice touch. The room was nice and clean and tidy. The inn is situated in settle town centre And there are lots of great country walks to take with plenty of caves and waterfalls to see. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the evening and the food was superb and reasonably priced. All in all we had a great wedding anniversary and this was mainly due to the lion at settle. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for such great comments! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and even more pleased you had a great wedding anniversary here with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Having had a lovely lunch 3days prior to today, we decided to return-what a mistake !! We ordered pate and cold platter, it took 50mins to produce. With four more diners in restaurant, each table complainig about long wait for food, a few people in courtyard, they weren't exactly busy. Food arrived portions not as good , not as much, very disappointing having had exactly the same 3 days earlier, I spoke to the duty manager, who said they had a number of checks on, what! Four in dining room and handful in courtyard, I asked her what would have happened if more diners
had been eating, reply- they would have stepped up to the mark!!!! What does that say about The Golden Lion and management. Sorry doesn't do it for me, two cold plates 50mins- what do you think? Never order hot meal, you would need overnight stay!
Other than sorry we were not offered anything! Stay away, plenty of places to eat in Settle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise for the long wait you had. We did have more than a few diners in our courtyard, but I'm sorry you had to wait 50 minutes for your meals. Maybe you will decide to give us another chance in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in June.

My room was a lovely large double with a very large bathroom. The room was very clean and the towels and bed linen were very good quality. There was a generous tea tray provided which was topped up every day. The staff were all very friendly.

Breakfast was good although during my trip the cooked breakfasts were taking a very long time to arrive after being ordered, 45 minutes on my last morning.

I ate in the restaurant one evening and the food portions were generous and the food was very tasty.

The Lion is only about a 5 minute walk from the train station, is in the centre of Settle and opposite a bank with a cash machine.

One minor complaint is the way that hotels now seem to keep winter weight duvets on the beds all year round which I find irritating, especially when there isn't a sheet as well to give one the option of taking the duvet off completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank L_Braybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely look into seeing what we can do about the duvet & sheet situations on the beds. I agree the duvets are more suited for winter season.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion at Settle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Booked into the Lion for 2 nights and requested a quiet room - needed to recharge our batteries! However, when we checked in, the room was at the front overlooking the main road and at the very top of the stairs just inside the first floor corridor - far from quiet. We did ask to be moved but were told it was not possible until the second evening when they would move us to a better room at the back of the hotel. We just got on with it and booked a table near the front window for dinner at 7.30. We had a good afternoon out, got back and decided to have a rest before dinner. All hell then broke out - immediately outside our room at 6pm the road was cut off and major road works started with pneumatic drills hammers and stihl saws - absolutely horrendous, not quiet and not what we wanted. We went to reception to complain and it was explained that the work would stop at 10pm. We decided we couldn't put up with this or eat in the restaurant and we would have to leave and even travel back home. However, the young manager contacted the Lion's sister hotel the Lister Arms at Malham and we went there, not knowing what to expect and not really wanting to drive at 7.30 in the evening. However, it was a solution.
The Lion's downstairs, public areas are good but the bedroom we were allocated on arrival was shabby and dated. The room was very hot and the window only opened a few inches. The en suite was rather smelly as the toilet was operated by a macerator - again very noisy.
We were pleased we moved and must compliment the staff on their problem solving. Our break turned out well against the odds. Our major complaint was that we wanted quiet and were not told about the road works which I believe are going on for a month.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swissball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise for no one mentioning the road works to you on your arrival at the Lion. However I am glad we could solve this problem by getting you a room up at The Lister Arms.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion at Settle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing