We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confortable and Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Confortable and Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Decided to have an overnight stay hear after seeing a recommendation in the Sunday Times. The bedroom (No 1) was smallish but adequate, clean with teas/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits, the bed was very comfortable (needed after a busy day) and the bathroom had a shower (no bath, so not able to soak aching limbs). Hotel provided fresh milk in a flask for your room (a lot nicer than the usual UHT stuff). We also had our evening meal hear which was excellent. The full "Yorkshire" breakfast was cooked to order and so arrived fersh and hot, whilst you still had a choice of cerials, fruit, yoghurt and do it yourself toast. Staff were also pleasant and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveb5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate feedback good and bad as it helps us improve our service and we really love to know what guests think of us and their stay with us. You mentioned about a bath, we have a few rooms with baths, so next time when you book, please mention that you would like a room with a bath. Small details, big difference is what we like to say and little things such as offering fresh milk can put a smile on people’s faces. As silly as it sounds, it is true. I am delighted you found your meal to be excellent. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    159
    39
    22
    11
See reviews for
78
201
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited Settle and stayed at The Lion 1st Sept 2013 for 7 nights with a pair of recumbent trikes, the staff looked after us (and trikes) brilliantly with nothing being to much trouble, the room (overlooking the rear courtyard) was spacious and clean and the shower was the best ever being completely controllable. The food was of a high quality with the beef on Sunday being to die for, also the fish and chips with proper mushy peas. I must mention the staff again as they were so professional, attentive but not intrusive and friendly while not being over familiar, I plan to return for my birthday, thank you everyone at The Lion.

Room Tip: Ring and speak to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggins B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We strive to give the best service possible and to make the guest enjoy their visit and by the sounds of it, we succeeded, which is great to see. I will pass your great comments on to our chefs as they love hearing feedback about their food. I am 100% sure they will be pleased with your comments. I also will be passing on your comments to the staff about how professional, attentive and friendly they were. This really does boost their confidence when interacting with guests, so thank you. We look forward to your next visit for your birthday.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent two nights at The Lion at Settle. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. Fresh milk for tea/coffee was a nice touch. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room décor was okay but could be doing with a little updating - the room was very clean though. We ate both nights in the restaurant - the food was fantastic! Breakfasts were great too with a huge choice on offer, catering for every need. All in all we enjoyed our time in Settle and would love to go back and stay again.

Room Tip: If staying through the week, I'd ask for a room at the back. Very peaceful on Sunday morning but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grovekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
What a great review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you come back and stay with us again. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived late on Thursday evening, minimum fuss at reception as staff knew we wanted to eat, whilst we chose supper from the menu our bags were taken to the bedroom - great service which was to be consistent throughout our three night stay.
The food here whilst is good and freshly cooked.
The restaurant is friendly and well managed, this culture is prevalent throughout the hotel and it is what makes a stay here so enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Lion and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hayley Macce - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked on the strength of reviews, and because it was dog friendly, we wanted to test a night away with our Jack Russell Terrorist. Great location,yes there isnt any on site parking,but its only 2 quid to park overnight in a pay and display a minutes walk away. Very friendly staff,fabulous food, nice little touches such as fresh milk in a little thermos for coffee/ tea in the room. Ok, we probs didnt have the best room because we did have the dog, it was fine for 1 night, maybe not for longer. We loved the log fires, so welcoming on a getting chilly afternoon, comfy chairs, plenty of good wines on offer, and im told the beer was excellent,enough was drunk to provide a quality tested review. All told, i think we made a great choice. If you go, im sorry about the knitting, it sort of didnt turn out very well, but i tried. You'll see what i mean!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armada79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased you had a go at knitting! Thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for one night late July. The hotel is right in the middle of Settle, so really convenient for all the shops, sights etc. But the downside to that, because Settle is an old town, it was laid put before cars were even thought of, so there's no parking, which was a bit of a shock. We did eventually find somewhere a few streets away, where we assumed the car would be safe, but on returning next morning, we'd obviously irritated someone, because two of my tyres had been let down. Anyway, the hotel itself is nice enough, though the bar gets very busy and the noise from the guests went on quite a long time after closing, outside the front door, but we were so tired it hardly bothered us. Nice comfortable bed and a good nights sleep, lovely breakfast in the morning and the manager was very friendly and apologetic for the lack of parking, so all in all we can't really complain.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy at closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We did used to have parking but we replaced the parking with our courtyard so guests have some where to sit outside, especially in the Summer. I am very sorry your tyres got let down. We do give car parking information when guests check in, however, by the sound of things you were not informed and I apologise for that. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay here.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welling, kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 30/9/13 - The Lion is in a good location in Settle with plenty of cafes and shops within an easy walk. Your very close to the train station and road links to get into the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and to Leeds & Carlise

The Hotel/Pub has lovely friendly staff, the bedrooms were comfortable and the food was great!

There was plenty of choice for Breakfast - a cold table with cereals, fresh fruit & juices - a 'help yourself' toast area, and a menu of cooked options.

We had dinner in the Lion every night as the first nights meal was excellent - would totally recommend the Steak & Ale Pudding!! Make sure your hungry as it was HUGE!!

The only negatives and recommendations I would make, would be to have bigger guest towels, the bedroom TV wasn't great and a couple of big comfy sofas around the fire would be nice to sit and chill with a book & a glass of wine :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel on the main road, which was a bit noisy in the morning - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoneywatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for finding the time to leave us feedback. I am glad you found your room to be comfortable and your stay was enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing