We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2 day stay”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent 2 day stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Lion and found it be an excellent base for exploring that part of Yorkshire. The rooms were very good, the bar and restaurant were also better that we expected from an inexpensive inn. The staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Free hifi, a varied menu and good local beers, what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: The back and courtyard rooms are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Lion, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Duty Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    168
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
84
212
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Two days at the Lion, cannot speak too highly of an excellent Hotel in the middle of Settle. We ate there both nights and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

A good selection of cask beers on the bar, all in good condition, two good well cooked Yorkshire breakfasts served by pleasant attentive staff my wife and I cannot fault the Lion.

A nice clean bedroom, spotless bathroom with bath and shower lent itself to two really nice days at the Lion, we would/will definitely return. If you are a jazz fan then Tuesday night is a night to stay, The Black Horse Jazz band appear every Tuesday and are very very good, an added bonus for our stay.

Thank you to all the staff who were pleasant and helpful.

The parking on previous trip advisor comments sounded to be something of an issue. I personally did not find it too much of a problem. Ashfields car park across the road and accessible on foot through a courtyard lined by shops (including what looked to be a very nice Indian restaurant) is a couple of minutes walk away.

If you park after 4.00 pm it is £2.00 pounds until 10.00am the following day, reasonable and fairly secure.

With respect to the management of the Lion ( or perhaps Thwaites brewery who own the Lion) would it be reasonable to arrange with the local council/authority for dispensation for residents staying at the Lion to park for free.? We have stayed in various place in Hawkshead in the Lakes, they have the same problem, no parking. What they do is give you a notice for the car which states you are staying in the pub/hotel and parking is free for the duration of your stay.

I also noted that a club across the road, I think it was Settle working mens club has a very large car park, would it be possible for the Lion to have some agreement for residents of the Lion to use the club car park.?

These are only my thoughts and in no way did the parking, or lack of it, spoil my enjoyment of a very nice Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to the next time you come and stay!

I appreciate your comments about parking and think this is a very good idea. I’m not promising anything, but I shall see what we can do. There’s no harm in asking. Thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Duty Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Decided to have an overnight stay hear after seeing a recommendation in the Sunday Times. The bedroom (No 1) was smallish but adequate, clean with teas/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits, the bed was very comfortable (needed after a busy day) and the bathroom had a shower (no bath, so not able to soak aching limbs). Hotel provided fresh milk in a flask for your room (a lot nicer than the usual UHT stuff). We also had our evening meal hear which was excellent. The full "Yorkshire" breakfast was cooked to order and so arrived fersh and hot, whilst you still had a choice of cerials, fruit, yoghurt and do it yourself toast. Staff were also pleasant and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveb5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate feedback good and bad as it helps us improve our service and we really love to know what guests think of us and their stay with us. You mentioned about a bath, we have a few rooms with baths, so next time when you book, please mention that you would like a room with a bath. Small details, big difference is what we like to say and little things such as offering fresh milk can put a smile on people’s faces. As silly as it sounds, it is true. I am delighted you found your meal to be excellent. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited Settle and stayed at The Lion 1st Sept 2013 for 7 nights with a pair of recumbent trikes, the staff looked after us (and trikes) brilliantly with nothing being to much trouble, the room (overlooking the rear courtyard) was spacious and clean and the shower was the best ever being completely controllable. The food was of a high quality with the beef on Sunday being to die for, also the fish and chips with proper mushy peas. I must mention the staff again as they were so professional, attentive but not intrusive and friendly while not being over familiar, I plan to return for my birthday, thank you everyone at The Lion.

Room Tip: Ring and speak to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggins B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We strive to give the best service possible and to make the guest enjoy their visit and by the sounds of it, we succeeded, which is great to see. I will pass your great comments on to our chefs as they love hearing feedback about their food. I am 100% sure they will be pleased with your comments. I also will be passing on your comments to the staff about how professional, attentive and friendly they were. This really does boost their confidence when interacting with guests, so thank you. We look forward to your next visit for your birthday.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent two nights at The Lion at Settle. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. Fresh milk for tea/coffee was a nice touch. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room décor was okay but could be doing with a little updating - the room was very clean though. We ate both nights in the restaurant - the food was fantastic! Breakfasts were great too with a huge choice on offer, catering for every need. All in all we enjoyed our time in Settle and would love to go back and stay again.

Room Tip: If staying through the week, I'd ask for a room at the back. Very peaceful on Sunday morning but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grovekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
What a great review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you come back and stay with us again. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived late on Thursday evening, minimum fuss at reception as staff knew we wanted to eat, whilst we chose supper from the menu our bags were taken to the bedroom - great service which was to be consistent throughout our three night stay.
The food here whilst is good and freshly cooked.
The restaurant is friendly and well managed, this culture is prevalent throughout the hotel and it is what makes a stay here so enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Lion and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hayley Macce - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked on the strength of reviews, and because it was dog friendly, we wanted to test a night away with our Jack Russell Terrorist. Great location,yes there isnt any on site parking,but its only 2 quid to park overnight in a pay and display a minutes walk away. Very friendly staff,fabulous food, nice little touches such as fresh milk in a little thermos for coffee/ tea in the room. Ok, we probs didnt have the best room because we did have the dog, it was fine for 1 night, maybe not for longer. We loved the log fires, so welcoming on a getting chilly afternoon, comfy chairs, plenty of good wines on offer, and im told the beer was excellent,enough was drunk to provide a quality tested review. All told, i think we made a great choice. If you go, im sorry about the knitting, it sort of didnt turn out very well, but i tried. You'll see what i mean!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armada79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased you had a go at knitting! Thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Hayley Mace - Assistant Manager and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
295 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing