We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another visit”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“another visit”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

called in the afternoon for a couple of drinks, not food. Still looks very inviting and comfortable but was quiet, no one was eating, we left at about 5pm and it was still only two people eating, not the cheapest place for food and ever time we've been there are different staff. Should be a wonderful pub as has the look and is in an excellent position in Settle. Won't give up on it yet, will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtqed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. We would love to hear what you think about our food, hopefully next time you will decide to eat with us, I can guarantee you will not be disappointed. We look forward to seeing you again.
Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    168
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
84
212
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Lion is lovely pub. It's been very tastefully decorated and I felt very relaxed here. The staff were very warm and friendly, I couldn't fault the service at all. The food is also beautifully presented, fresh and cooked very well but it just lacked flavour. I tried 3 dishes and they all failed to deliver anything above average. The menu isn't very adventurous either.

Overall the experience was good, but as the most important thing for me was missing I left a little disappointed. Having said that, I would go again as I realise that one experience may not necessarily be a true reflection of what they can deliver.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TommyB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. I am glad you enjoyed your time here, but disappointed the food wasn't up to your expectations. We hope you wil be back so we can prove how good our food really is. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a lovely Hotel for a weekend break, really friendly helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble, roaring fires, animal friendly even down to the towels placed by the door to dry your dog off. the food was excellent and plentiful.
The only drawback is the noise between the rooms which is horrendous, you always know what the people in the next room are doing, we were in room 2 and when the person in 3 used the bathroom the noise of the fan was like a jet engine taking off, the same when no 1 was using the hair dryer or watching television.

Room Tip: Not 1, 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berrie7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you seemed to enjoy your time here. We do like to cater for everyones needs. We hope you will be back to stay with us. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to the Lion & were greeted with a warm welcome, we were impressed. Our room (14) was spacious & very well presented with a great bathroom. There was some traffic noise from the trucks passing by but it didn't keep us awake at night.
The bar offered a range of real ales & the fireplace was lovely. The bar staff were helpful & friendly.
The evening meal was served in the very pleasant dining area by a lovely waiter. The service was prompt & the food was very enjoyable- generous portions at reasonable prices.
Breakfast was great- a cold buffet of cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad & croissants and a self-serve toast station. The Full Yorkshire cooked breakfast was a showcase of good produce, well cooked & well presented, promptly served again by friendly staff.
When we checked out & staff enquired what we had planned for the day, a second staff member was called over to advise us on a sort local walk, and she happily provided us with a couple of alternatives.
We had our 8 month son with us & a room with a bath & travel cot were provided as we had requested. We were offered a high chair at breakfast before we had the chance to ask for one & it was spotless & well maintained. the walk we did was very pushchair- friendly. These little things really do make a difference when travelling with children & made us feel welcome.
We really couldn't have asked for more from our stay at the Lion. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff & we hope to return before too long.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MillysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I am very pleased to see you all enjoyed your time at the Lion and we hope you will be back to stay with us. We like to help guests as best we can to ensure they have a great time whilst staying in Settle. Thanks again. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Lion is in a good location, is clean and the staff are very welcoming. But, this is an establishment which can't make up its mind whether to be a pub, hotel or restaurant - and suffers on all counts.
As a pub, there is a good range of ales but when we were there on a Saturday night, they could have done with more staff. The bar staff spend a lot of time taking orders for food which can be eaten in the bar area. The service suffered.
As a restaurant, the food is ok. The 'full English' breakfast is good but one of our party couldn't have Eggs Benedict because they had no Hollandaise sauce and Scrambled eggs were overcooked. The evening meal on Saturday night was chaotic with a long wait and one of our party not getting his order at all. And then trying to charge for 'extra' vegetables.
As a Hotel. Try to avoid Room 8 if you are above average width. You will have difficulty getting in and out of the tiny shower cubicle. The shower is an an electric variety. The toilet is extremely noisy contraption. The extractor fan was ineffective.
In all, a disappointment for a Hotel which isn't cheap.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 8 if you're on the large side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloopy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are infact an Inn of Character, which happens to serve good food and a large selection of ales.
I apologise that you had to wait a long while for your food, we were very busy on saturday night and we did specify to guests there may be a wait for food as so many people were wanting to eat with us.
We do charge for sides of vegetables.
Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Despite only booking for 8 and turning up over an hour early, we were made very welcome at The Lion.

The second we walked through the door and were greeted by a roaring log fire, and a pile of clean, dry towels for the dog (who we had left in the car, just in case!) we knew that this pub welcomed walkers and outdoor folk.

The food was excellent and the service second to none. Portion size was good, with everyone agreeing that this was one of our better choices. The "Tuesday Club" members meet on the 3rd Tuesday of every month for a walk and a meal, always scoring the meal out of 10. Today's score of 9.5 was the highest every awarded by the club members.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to The Lion. I am very pleased to read you felt very welcomed at The Lion. Thank you for the score of 9.5, we feel very special to be the highest scorers! Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We met family for a birthday lunch at the Lion at Settle. The restaurant is pleasantly decorated with plenty of seating without diners being on top of each other. There is a good menu and a specials board. The food was very nice, it being a Sunday most of us had beef or lamb but there were nice vegetarian options as well. The puddings were delicious, when we eventually got them. We had to wait some time before our orders were taken but as it was lunchtime and there were a number of diners in, we didn't mind too much. However, we had all finished and had to wait at least twenty minutes for our plates to be taken away and then we waited probably half an hour to be given dessert menus. In the end, we gave up and got them ourselves from across the restaurant. Our waiter did turn up a few minutes later with menus but saw we already had them. It was rather annoying as there were members of staff (not our waiter) standing around in the bar area, and by this point we were one of only two groups in the restaurant. The food here is nice and if you don't mind waiting, it should be fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit, I am pleased you found the food was lovely, but disappointed at the same time about the service. All I can do is apologise about the wait you had for your order to be taken and plates to be cleared. We are all about quick and effective service so this is disappointing to read. I hope you will give us another chance to show you what great service we can deliver and we hope to see you in the near future. Thank you again, Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
295 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing