We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hearty food, well cooked”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited for a family birthday. Although had booked, it was disappointing that the table was not ready so we were ushered to the bar. Eventually we were seated and orders taken eventually. The starters (nibbles for sharing) and Sunday roasts were good- beef was beautifully cooked and very tender, others commented that their choices were delicious. We were too full for puds! Good sized portions and well cooked. The dining room was light and airy and welcoming. Would recommend for sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Drhunbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. I remember your party arriving and we were still setting the restaurant up from a busy breakfast. I apologise the table wasn't ready when you arrived but we had it ready as quick as we could. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for The Lion at Settle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Lion is not swish, nor is it the place to go for the latest food fads. It is a market town hotel that is a joy for those wanting a warm welcome and good service in characterful surroundings. Our party of seven, with an age range of more than 90 years did not phase the staff one bit when we descended on them for lunch. We were shown into the dining room and a high chair was found immediately. On closer inspection it was a dining room and not just a bar, for those wanting to drink and or have a snack there were two inviting rooms.

Menus were brought by a smiling couple for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Drinks were ordered and brought to the table; the recommended bitter was spot on.

At first the printed menu looked as if it might be formulaic, but it contained some interesting options, as did the specials board. Black pudding made from locally bred pigs and Lamb Henry stood out.

We ordered some of the nibbles while waiting for our main courses, the local chipolatas and breads with olive oil were devoured with nothing but praise. The following food was equally as well received. I finished off with ice-cream. It was as good as it was plentiful.

This was a thoroughly pleasurable experience due to the traditional surroundings, the staff and the food which was both well cooked and excellent value for money. To that one has to add good beer and little touches like a proper napkin rather than the ubiquitous miserable bit of paper.

Those wanting jus, reductions, timbales and the like will probably be disappointed. Those who think acceptable service is giving a table number to some feckless youth behind a bar can learn how it should be done.

Just wish we lived nearer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to The Lion, what great comments! I am very pleased to hear you had a pleasurable experience and we do hope you return again. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

great place to stay friendly helpful staff, food was fab, room was spacious for a family of 3 and clean. Would definatley stop there again. Staff did seem short staffed but this did not alter the level of service or helpfulness.

Room Tip: stopped in room 14 it was lovely
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markanddeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for such a great review! I am so pleased to hear the level of service did not alter as we were very busy. We look forward to seeing you again.
Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

called in the afternoon for a couple of drinks, not food. Still looks very inviting and comfortable but was quiet, no one was eating, we left at about 5pm and it was still only two people eating, not the cheapest place for food and ever time we've been there are different staff. Should be a wonderful pub as has the look and is in an excellent position in Settle. Won't give up on it yet, will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtqed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. We would love to hear what you think about our food, hopefully next time you will decide to eat with us, I can guarantee you will not be disappointed. We look forward to seeing you again.
Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Lion is lovely pub. It's been very tastefully decorated and I felt very relaxed here. The staff were very warm and friendly, I couldn't fault the service at all. The food is also beautifully presented, fresh and cooked very well but it just lacked flavour. I tried 3 dishes and they all failed to deliver anything above average. The menu isn't very adventurous either.

Overall the experience was good, but as the most important thing for me was missing I left a little disappointed. Having said that, I would go again as I realise that one experience may not necessarily be a true reflection of what they can deliver.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TommyB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. I am glad you enjoyed your time here, but disappointed the food wasn't up to your expectations. We hope you wil be back so we can prove how good our food really is. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a lovely Hotel for a weekend break, really friendly helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble, roaring fires, animal friendly even down to the towels placed by the door to dry your dog off. the food was excellent and plentiful.
The only drawback is the noise between the rooms which is horrendous, you always know what the people in the next room are doing, we were in room 2 and when the person in 3 used the bathroom the noise of the fan was like a jet engine taking off, the same when no 1 was using the hair dryer or watching television.

Room Tip: Not 1, 2 or 3
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berrie7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you seemed to enjoy your time here. We do like to cater for everyones needs. We hope you will be back to stay with us. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to the Lion & were greeted with a warm welcome, we were impressed. Our room (14) was spacious & very well presented with a great bathroom. There was some traffic noise from the trucks passing by but it didn't keep us awake at night.
The bar offered a range of real ales & the fireplace was lovely. The bar staff were helpful & friendly.
The evening meal was served in the very pleasant dining area by a lovely waiter. The service was prompt & the food was very enjoyable- generous portions at reasonable prices.
Breakfast was great- a cold buffet of cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad & croissants and a self-serve toast station. The Full Yorkshire cooked breakfast was a showcase of good produce, well cooked & well presented, promptly served again by friendly staff.
When we checked out & staff enquired what we had planned for the day, a second staff member was called over to advise us on a sort local walk, and she happily provided us with a couple of alternatives.
We had our 8 month son with us & a room with a bath & travel cot were provided as we had requested. We were offered a high chair at breakfast before we had the chance to ask for one & it was spotless & well maintained. the walk we did was very pushchair- friendly. These little things really do make a difference when travelling with children & made us feel welcome.
We really couldn't have asked for more from our stay at the Lion. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff & we hope to return before too long.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MillysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I am very pleased to see you all enjoyed your time at the Lion and we hope you will be back to stay with us. We like to help guests as best we can to ensure they have a great time whilst staying in Settle. Thanks again. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
414 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: £80 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing