We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My family and I had Sunday Lunch at The Lion today. Our main course was either beef or lamb and both were cooked to perfection and very tender . The Yorkshire pudding was huge and had to be seen to be believed. We only had room for one course. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely go again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for such a short but very sweet review! We hope to see you in the Lion again. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for The Lion at Settle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Absolutely loved this place! Great staff, fantastic building, and great location right in the town centre. Would definitely stay there again. The food was the only thing that lets it down; just not as good as I would have hoped.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkTraveldreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for such a great review! I am disappointed that the food did not meet your standards. I hope you do come back and give our food another chance. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in January 2014 and got the train from Carlisle, which was an excellent journey, well worth a trip for anyone!

Hotel is located very centrally and is welcoming and homely on arrival. Room was a decent size with a comfy and large bed and good facilities. Food very good and live music on too on the night we were there.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope you enjoyed your time at the Lion and we hope to see you again soon. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Lion as part of a wedding party and overall had a good experience there. Our room, a family one with three beds lined up in a Goldilocks manner, was probably one of the few that had not undergone refurbishment. It was a bit basic with a tiny shower room/toilet created out of one corner of the room, which would have given the proverbial cat a very hard time! The bed however was comfortable. What really made the stay for us though, was both the overall friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food – we stayed a total of three nights so had ample opportunity to sample both breakfasts and other meals. Portion sizes were large and cooking was to a good standard.

If we were to use the Lion again as we might – there is lots of very good and scenic walking in the area – we would ensure at booking we’d be placed in a better room.

Note also, the pub does not have its own parking, but there are nearby car parks.

Room Tip: Avoid the room with the kitchen extractor fan outside - ear plugs are provided (no joke!). Similarl...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. We appreciate all feedback we get from guests.
Ear plugs are a quirky extra for guests who are finding it hard to sleep as we are on a main road, we are a listed building and because of this we don't have the great invention which is double glazing, so we are trying to help in every way possible.
We hope you will return to the Lion. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited for a family birthday. Although had booked, it was disappointing that the table was not ready so we were ushered to the bar. Eventually we were seated and orders taken eventually. The starters (nibbles for sharing) and Sunday roasts were good- beef was beautifully cooked and very tender, others commented that their choices were delicious. We were too full for puds! Good sized portions and well cooked. The dining room was light and airy and welcoming. Would recommend for sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Drhunbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. I remember your party arriving and we were still setting the restaurant up from a busy breakfast. I apologise the table wasn't ready when you arrived but we had it ready as quick as we could. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Lion is not swish, nor is it the place to go for the latest food fads. It is a market town hotel that is a joy for those wanting a warm welcome and good service in characterful surroundings. Our party of seven, with an age range of more than 90 years did not phase the staff one bit when we descended on them for lunch. We were shown into the dining room and a high chair was found immediately. On closer inspection it was a dining room and not just a bar, for those wanting to drink and or have a snack there were two inviting rooms.

Menus were brought by a smiling couple for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Drinks were ordered and brought to the table; the recommended bitter was spot on.

At first the printed menu looked as if it might be formulaic, but it contained some interesting options, as did the specials board. Black pudding made from locally bred pigs and Lamb Henry stood out.

We ordered some of the nibbles while waiting for our main courses, the local chipolatas and breads with olive oil were devoured with nothing but praise. The following food was equally as well received. I finished off with ice-cream. It was as good as it was plentiful.

This was a thoroughly pleasurable experience due to the traditional surroundings, the staff and the food which was both well cooked and excellent value for money. To that one has to add good beer and little touches like a proper napkin rather than the ubiquitous miserable bit of paper.

Those wanting jus, reductions, timbales and the like will probably be disappointed. Those who think acceptable service is giving a table number to some feckless youth behind a bar can learn how it should be done.

Just wish we lived nearer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to The Lion, what great comments! I am very pleased to hear you had a pleasurable experience and we do hope you return again. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

great place to stay friendly helpful staff, food was fab, room was spacious for a family of 3 and clean. Would definatley stop there again. Staff did seem short staffed but this did not alter the level of service or helpfulness.

Room Tip: stopped in room 14 it was lovely
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markanddeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for such a great review! I am so pleased to hear the level of service did not alter as we were very busy. We look forward to seeing you again.
Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: £80 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing