We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch while staying in Settle. Staff very welcoming & helpful. Good menu, served very quickly & efficiently with superb food in a relaxed atmosphere. Given time to enjoy our lunch without feeling rushed. A very good lunchtime experience. Highly recommended.
Bob Bate
Buckinghamshire

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobBate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello Mr Bate,
thank you for such a great review. I am very pleased to read that you thought the food was 'superb'. We have just changed our menu today, you shall have to come back and sample it!
Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    165
    42
    25
    12
See reviews for
81
207
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for a walking weekend and really enjoyed our visit. The staff were great, we did have a minor problem with our room bookings, but this was sorted out without too much hastle. The place had a very nice relaxed feel and the food and beer was really good. Our bedroom was fine and had everything we needed. The hotel was super dog friendly which was good for us. I think we will have a return as Settle is a lovely market town and a good base for walking and cycling. The bill at the end of our stay seemed very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you in the near future. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights while watching the Tour de France. The bar was packed when we arrived on Friday evening, but the staff managed to find us a table for dinner, and the food was good. Our room was comfortable. We got up at 4.30 am to beat the road closures so missed breakfast on Saturday. We asked if we could have an early breakfast on Sunday as service starts at 8am, and this was no problem. Overall, a good place to stay in a lovely market town. The only issue we had was noise - room 4 is above the kitchen overlooking a courtyard at the back of the hotel, and the fans from the kitchen are very loud. They go off at 10.30 pm, but both nights there were people sitting in the courtyard talking very loudly until about midnight which was annoying as we had to be up early.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 4 if you want a quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tegfantrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We do ask guests to come in late at night from the court yard, unfortunately this sounds like it wasn’t the case here, which I apologise for.
I’m glad you found the room to be comfortable.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaithwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

On our way up to watch Tour de yorkshire at Kilnsey crag and called in at The Lion .First impression lovely oldie worldly pub ,cozy and inviting loved the big old fireplaces and heavy tables,staff very attentive and pleasant .My husband had fish and chips and said they were delicious .Would recommend and would definitely call again next time were in Settle .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to see you found the lunch to be 'lovely'. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Enjoyed a nice meal at the Lion on our first night in the Dales. Very nice pub, with a small menu but good food. Price was not bad for a restaurant that in the South would be significantly higher. Worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneNap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. I'm a bit confused when you say a 'small menu', maybe you never saw all four of our menus? Thank you again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Called in mid-week while visiting Settle.
We chose lunch from the 2-course "Market" menu and were very pleased indeed. The quality
of the food and the standard of the service exceeded expectations . Will certainly call again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your short but very sweet review! We look forward to your return. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I usually end up in the Lion when I take my dog for a walk, we are both made to feel very welcome in this lovely town center pub. Dog biscuits on the bar and towels to dry a wet dog make this the best dog friendly pub I've ever been in.It has a friendly atmosphere with open fires, fine food and live music some nights, but don't tell anyone - its just mine and my dogs secret.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidchandler369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your great review, we enjoy the company of our four legged friends just as much as our two legged friends! We hope to see you both in the near future. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Property: The Lion at Settle
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing