We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly and comfortable”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Settle is a pictoresque little town in the Yorkshire Dales and is a good place to stay in the region. The Lion fits right into that picture. It is on the main street of Settle (with traffic being a potentially minus if you have a room in the front - we didn't) and looks like the main pub in town, in a positive sense. It radiates an atmosphere of catering for both the visitors and the locals, a place where you would like to sit down and relax after a day's work, hiking, or travelling.

The staff was very friendly and genuinely interested. When they did have some time, they would strike up a conversation about our trip, home, etc. The young gentleman who seemed to be in charge (he wasn't the owner he said) tried his best to accomodate to our wishes as much as he could.

The rooms are good, comfortable and clean. The double bed was comfortable as well, and wide enough (unlike the 1,4m wide 'double' beds we had in some other hotels). The bunk bed in the family room was less comfortable, but then again that is what you can expect from a bunk bed.

Is it perfect? No, hence the 4* rather than 5.
The bathroom has a rather annoyingly loud fan switched with the light. It makes the noise of a very loud hairdryer and we could hear our neighboor's fan as well...
The other minus may not be a problem most of the time: no airconditioning. We happened to visit with days of 27C and without airconditioning the nights were clammy.

The restaurant:
The Lion also has a pub/restaurant with a small outdoor terrace. The selection of the beers was good, but we were not impressed by the food. It wasn't bad; in fact, it was ok for typical pub food, and reasonably priced. We have had better (and worse) in various pubs in the UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you don't want to risk the noise of passing traffic (especially bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DGieskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Hello,
thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion and your 4* rating.
We have just had secondary glazing fitted in today so no need to avoid the rooms on the front of the building anymore.
We do hope guests feel like they can come to the Lion to relax after a hard days graft, or a long day out walking or cycling.
I am very pleased to read our staff were accommodating and genuinely interested in what you were up to.
In our family rooms we have a sofa bed if this is what you were referring to as 'bunk beds'?
We supply fans to guests if they need them for their rooms.
Thanks again for your review. Hayley Mace and all the team from the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited for our last drink of the night after visiting other pubs in Settle.

I wouldn't say this was the best one, but it was certainly very nice.

The only thing I would say is that the range of drinks on tap is limited to stuff that real ale drinkers like and the prices were really high.

Probably would only have one in here.

The food looked good, but again, the menu was terribly overpriced.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank davey102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We have 7 different ales on tap, which I think is a great range, also not forgetting about the huge range of world beers we have in bottles which makes plenty of choice for guests to choose from. Again thank you for your comments; we do hope you will return. Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just stayed at the Lion for 2 nights and having booked on the comments made in the short article in the Daily Mail thought it would be a good break. Firstly I have to say the staff with the exception of one were excellent the waitresses really did a good job and the mature gentleman was spot on, it is worth mentioning that the duty manager on the Tuesday and Wednesday was very attentive and helpful, good service albeit slightly slow but the food was red hot so I can live with that as it says to me that it was cooked for me, standard of food was good but if I had a complaint it was I hate bagged salad really do not know why it is used. Now down side why is there no mention of the fact there is No Parking so if you have a decent car watch out as you have to leave it a way off in a parking area without CCTV. I booked the DBB package make sure you let them know and repeat it with every order as I think there IT system can not cope with information. PLEASE check your bedside lights. Value for money it is not but as I said most staff excellent and the beer is good so as with a lot of things try before you buy and maybe check it out first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front as located right bang on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pandiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Lion. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.
I am very pleased the majority of staff was excellent and the standard of food was good.

You say there is no mention of a car park; however on our website it states that we do not have parking. -
'•We do not have any parking on site, however there is a pay and display 5 minutes’ walk from us. However if you need to drop people off you are more than welcome to do so in the tunnel located at the right hand side of the building.'

Also if you are on the dinner, bed and breakfast package our system tells us that and when we charge food items to the room it will automatically correct it if you are on the dinner, bed and breakfast package.

Thank you again for your review, we hope you will return to the Lion.

Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I dined in the restaurant tonight , after been seated 10 minutes had passed and we eventually had to ask to have our order taken , the starter came and was exellent , couldn't complain , when the main course eventually came my wife's steak was as ordered , slightly small but cooked to her requirements , my pulled pork burger was however poor ,no barbecue sauce , no smoked cheese ,no gherkin. And no fries and onion rings as ordered , £10.65 for a bread bun with pork in and a bit of coleslaw !! Not good in my book , overall had the chance of been exellent but I was left feeling very much out of pocket

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Laptopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello, thank you for your review.
I firstly have to apologise you had to wait a while for your order to be taken and secondly reading your comments about your 'pulled pork burger', to me this looks like a misunderstanding when the order was taken, we have a pulled pork sandwich on the menu and a pulled pork burger, I think the pulled pork sandwich was ordered instead of the burger which I am very sorry about.
We hope you give us another chance.
Thank you again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've been to the Lion to eat several times but this was the first time we have stayed there's, we weren't disappointed. We had our dogs with us and the room catered for them ideally, lovely cool wooden floor in both the bedroom and bathroom. A pile of towels as you came through the door especially for wet dogs, unfortunately we did need them! The evening meal was gorgeous, all 4 had something different and all were very happy with our choices.There was a fine selection of real ales, the Wainwright was our favorite of the night. Breakfast was good, the buffet had freshly prepared croissants and they were delicious. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DawnJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review and taking the time to write about your stay with us. Not many places cater for the needs of our four legged friends and we love keeping them happy! We do hope you come again. Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch while staying in Settle. Staff very welcoming & helpful. Good menu, served very quickly & efficiently with superb food in a relaxed atmosphere. Given time to enjoy our lunch without feeling rushed. A very good lunchtime experience. Highly recommended.
Bob Bate
Buckinghamshire

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BobBate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello Mr Bate,
thank you for such a great review. I am very pleased to read that you thought the food was 'superb'. We have just changed our menu today, you shall have to come back and sample it!
Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for a walking weekend and really enjoyed our visit. The staff were great, we did have a minor problem with our room bookings, but this was sorted out without too much hastle. The place had a very nice relaxed feel and the food and beer was really good. Our bedroom was fine and had everything we needed. The hotel was super dog friendly which was good for us. I think we will have a return as Settle is a lovely market town and a good base for walking and cycling. The bill at the end of our stay seemed very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jackieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you in the near future. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
365 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,038 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: £77 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing