We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2009

My wife and I found this hotel to be very nice, we had a large room, with en suite. It was nicely decorated, warm, and clean. The staff were friendly and happy to give advice on the local area.

The hotel has a grand staircase, and the interior has been nicely decorated, retaining the original features. Separate bar, lounge, and restrauant areas. Nice food and a good range of cask and real ales.

Easy to find just a few minutes walk from Settle railway station. We'll be returning in 2009.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Happy134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2008

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel (though it's not a hotel in the true sense of the word, more like an inn) due to some of the more negative reviews on this site, which is why I thought I'd log my experiences.
I was travelling on my own and was rather strapped for cash so chose this option as it was central to Settle and charged £45 for a 'single' even though they put me in a double room ensuite, which I thought was very good value. The hotel is a short walk from the station which I managed fine with two weighty bags and it was easy to find. Rooms are reached by a lovely staircase and the place has antiques and an old world feel. Very friendly. The room was fine with nice old furniture - everything worked (apart from the radio reception on the clock radio which was a bit annoying as I am a Radio 4 nut!). The shower was good though it was a bit of a squeeze getting into it so might be a little tricky if you are particularly overweight.
I found all the staff friendly, polite, very helpful and great characters. (There is an Italian waiter who charms the older residents of Settle with cream teas on a Tuesday, which is market day!) On my last day, as I wasn't leaving the area until later in the afternoon, they happily looked after both my bags, with no fuss, which was very much appreciated.
Breakfast was great and the dining room attractive. The coffee wasn't as strong as I like, which is almost always a problem in hotels so not restricted to this one. There were always lots of people eating at the Golden Lion and the menu is interesting. I only ate there once and it was excellent. A good selection of wines too.
Settle is lovely with some gorgeous countryside surrounding it. There is a real community feel and a few shops which help part you from your cash! If you are there on a Tuesday you MUST go and see The Black Horse Jazz Men who play at the Royal Oak from about 8.30. They are wonderful and lots of other jazz players sit in with them - a real find and a real treat.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, it has everything you need plus character which scores highly in my book!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeddingsingerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2005

Having just returned home after a 2 night stay at this hotel my wife myself and two friends felt rather disappointed. The rooms were comfortable and bathroom basic with a stand in shower, ate both nights in the hotel and found food good staff friendly. The bar area unfortunately was a different matter. Very busy in the evening with lots of smokers, (no area put aside for non smokers) as all our party are non smokers and we found the bar area unpleasant. Sorry buy we shall not be returning apart from the dining room staff nobody even spoke to us or made us feel welcome until the morning of departure and that we felt was only because we wished to pay our bill on checking out.


3  Thank Barryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2005

I booked this pub/hotel blind, without research and could not believe my luck. It's been modernised without losing the oldie worldy atmosphere. The room was large and well decorated, sadly the ensuite unit let it down, otherwise I would have rated it well above average. The staff are friendly, the place has character, the restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. No wonder it is the busiest place in town, (and I went to them all). There are cheaper places but the convenience of being in the centre of town, especially as the weather was mixed was worth the extra.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dexter48507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Basingstoke, England
16
Reviewed 26 September 2005

This is a wonderful old hotel nestled in the market town of Settle. To bring out the key points:

Positives:
1. Very good Value
2. Great food
3. Friendly staff
4. Nice rooms (small and basic - but cosey and with everything you need)
5. A nice upstairs lounge area for guests.
6. Big lounge and public bar areas

No real negatives experienced, but worth mentioning that there is not a great deal of parking (room for about 6 guest cars at a push). DO NOT park in the market square overnight on Monday night as there is a market on Tuesday. There is a nearby carpark though.

Also - regarding Settle - this is a "proper" old English town - shops seem to shut up promptly at 5 and I believe that on wednesdays most shops are closed. If you are going for walks "buy a torch" as street lights are few and far between (this adds to the character). There is a very good, friendly Indian restaurant behind the chip shop (also good) - can't remember the name but there were stuffed toys (lions and tigers) in the window.

We had a great time and would happily visit again. We stayed at 4 hotels/ guest houses in our weeks trip and this place served the best cooked breakfast as well.

I am a very fussy person and prone to getting annoyed when things on my holiday aren't as I hoped. I (we) enjoyed our stay and found it great value.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2004

Although the hotel is ready for refurbishing it is clean and tidy the food and beer were excellent the staff friendly and helpful and all at the right price. I stayed 2 nights at a hotel in grasmere paying nearly 3 times the price and not as good.
Golden lion definitively recommended on price.


6  Thank azsxdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Lion. It's been quite a few years since your visit and we have had a refurb! You should come and check it out... the place looks great (if i do say so myself). Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marishka1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,035 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: £77 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle
The Lion At Settle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing