We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd hospitality”
Review of Oast Guest House

Oast Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oast Guest House
Ranked #15 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2011

At times we felt uncomfortable being in the b&b. It was as though we were a hinderance and had outstayed our welcome. The hosts definitely lacked hospitality skills. On our 1st morning we were up very early so we ate the cereal, muffins & croissants which were left for us. There wasn't enough croissants to have on each & a
toaster in the breakfast room would have been very useful. One of our group wasn't leaving early and asked for some toast and it was felt that she was pitting out the hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauly_B_2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our room was No.5, on the second floor, overlooking the Settle-Kendal road but the road noise was eliminated by closing the double-glazed window. The room was a good size, with a small ensuite with a good shower, although this had pressure changes. We had phoned and asked if a double room would be available for our stay (the B&B lists one double room) and assured yes; we then rang and booked the specified double room. On arrival there was a slight delay checking which room would be ours and we restated that we wanted a double room. Room 5 had two single beds with individual mattresses, pushed together and linked with a double sheet. As we had turned down offers of joined beds elsewhere we were irritated and consider the description as a double room to be misleading.

Mattresses were firm and we slept reasonably. Breakfast was well-presented and tasty. Had we been given a double mattress we would have been happy with this choice.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a private bathroom, not ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

At the Oast Guest House we welcome constructive comments during the visit when we have the opportunity to rectify any misunderstandings or put right any issues that arise. As on this occasion no comment was made during the stay we feel that retrospective criticism is unfounded.
Anyone reading the review would have the impression that we are situated in the middle of an urban conurbation rather than a Dales town. On the day in question there was more traffic passing the house but this was due to the by pass being closed, due to a fatal road accident.
We have one room with a double bed, which was being used for a single lady, who was in for a week. Being asked for a double room does not discount a room containing a kingsize bed made of two beds together and secured by more that a solitary sheet, unless a specific request for a double bedded room is made. There is a difference - Semantics. The reviewer did however sleep reasonably well !!! Any small business needs to be flexible to ensure their survival.
We are a three star bed and breakfast establishment, which defines the standards that people should expect and therefore should be realistic in their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Walked the 70 mile Ribble Way in 4 days and I was not disappointed in night 3 at "The Oast" in Settle. Cold drinks available in room but hot drinks and cake were available in the dining room at any time. The breakfast was something to die for with plenty of variety. I would recommend this Guest House for walkers. Only 10 minutes walk to Settle Station on the beautiful Settle to Carlisle Railway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountararat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the place. The guest house is extremely clean, spotless, warm and has everything you would need for a stay. We were particularly impressed by the attention to the detail for breakfast, a wonderful vegetarian breakfast, in fact the best breakfast we have had for a long time, homemade muffins, fresh homemade smoothies. Lovely! Rooms are spacious and inviting. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Friendly welcome on arrival, owners happy to give advice as to what Settle has to offer. Room and bathroom bright and very clean, though small for a double. Furnishings basic but adequate. Good towels. Comfortable bed. Thin curtains meant woken very early by the light. No tea and coffee facilities in room. Good breakfast selection in addition to the "full English", including fresh blueberries with pomegranate seeds - lovely with yoghurt, and plenty of tea and toast. Our room though felt very cold, no doubt worsened by the unseasonal weather. We needed the fleece blankets that we found in the wardrobe, as well as donning cycle tops in bed. In the morning our clothes felt cool to the touch. Felt that the standard was more basic than others on this trip at similar price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

If you are looking for a comfortable nights sleep and a superb breakfast, this is the place. A great choice of breakfast menu includes warm muffins and homemade preserves for a fantastic start to your day. I would not hesitate to reccomend The Oast House Guest House as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DveWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

A mate and I stayed for one evening on our way through from Scotland to the south of England. On arrival, we were greeted by mouth-watering smell emanating from the kitchen and were shown to the room immediately. The landlady was friendly and helpful offering us advice on where (and possibly where not) to eat that evening and enquired at what time we'd like breakfast. As it transpired, this was plentiful and consisted of home-made items as well as a traditional cooked breakfast. I didn't even need to think about lunch at all!
The room itself was very clean, recently refurbished/decorated and warm given that there was a heavy frost that particular evening. Bed's were comfy and the ensuite facilities clean and fitted to a high standard.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Settle hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#17 of 22 in Settle
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
364 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oast Guest House

Address: 5 Penyghent View, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Oast Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing