We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best if not better.”
Review of Oast Guest House

Oast Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oast Guest House
Ranked #13 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Martham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still the best if not better.”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Just back from another 2 nights with my mate Andy. As always 1st class in every way Helens home cooked cakes and jams great and her breakfast special of Mank kipper and black pudding fish cake topped with a poached egg just delicious. Thanks Helen see you next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Mel
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future. Really pleased that you enjoyed breakfast.

see you again
regards
helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The home made food was outstanding at this unassuming B and B. Don't be put off by the rusting sign. It is much better than it looks from the outside. I have never had a nicer breakfast or one with as much input from the owner in terms of making it herself - muffins, smoothie, many different jams, as well as fresh fruit salads and dried fruit salads and a good choice of cooked breakfasts. There were even fresh home made cakes on arrival. A quiet room with very comfortable twin beds. This B and B deserves its "best breakfast" award.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is very complimentary to know that Helen's hard work is appreciated.
You have however, caused me a slight dilemma in that should I sort out the rusty sign or leave it as a beacon to 'all that glitters is not gold'.
Thank you once again for your kind words
regards
Martyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eggleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night on the 6th of October. We found our twin room with en-suite shower to be clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities available free in the lounge on our arrival. We enjoyed a nice cooked breakfast with loads of toast and tea next morning. We were visiting Settle for a family get together and the Guest House was ideal. We shall certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth,Cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Initially planning a 3 night stay to walk the Dales we met the worst September rain for 100 years and so cut short our visit.
Fine room (No 5), well appointed and the lounge facilities were great.
Great breakfast and helpful friendly advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeetieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your review.
Sorry that your stay was blighted by the weather but hopefully your next stay will be better.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Nice B&B on the Way of the Roses route. Great cakes on arrival and very good breakfasts. Fairly accommodating for cyclists. Owners try hard to accommodate requests. Could do with covered area to store bikes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your stay on the Way of the Roses cycle route.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the cakes and breakfast but still struggle with the concept of covered bike storage. Where would you like us to site the covered storage unit? - any ideas would be appreciated. We have tried to accommodate cyclists as best as space allows.
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stopped at the Oast Guest House the night before doing the Yorkshire Dales 3 peaks and would certainly return. We felt very welcomed by Martyn, who also gave us some excellent recommendations for places to eat in Settle - the food at the Talbot Arms was perfect. As we were leaving very early Martyn made some breakfast and muffins available for us to help ourselves, which was much appreciated for our arduous day ahead. We stopped in room 2 and found it very clean with a large comfy bed, the ensuite was also cleaned to a high standard, only issue we had was the hot/cold shower but still it did the job! Thank you Martyn and Helen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Original_Bobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that the Three Peaks were not too arduous.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
regards
Martyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Enjoyed a very nice stay here and was recommended a good place to eat in the evening. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was simply excellent. However, we were only informed that breakfast was from 8.00 am. We would have actually preferred it earlier but it wan't a great problem. But later we found out that the other guests who also wanted an earlier breakfast were told they couldn't have it because it would conflict with other guests. Now forgive me if I'm wrong, but I thought it would be the duty of a guesthouse owner to try and cater for the wishes of all/the majority of the guests? It seems to me that the majority of people in the guesthouse would have preferred an earlier breakfast if it had been offered.

I was also surprised that the 'secure bike storage' involved chaining the bikes up outside under a plastic sheet. I live in a much smaller village than Settle and given that our bikes are worth over 3k I would not normally consider leaving them outside, even in a rural area. As it was, they were fine, but in the next three stops the 'secure bike storage' did actually involve being locked away inside. We weren't given the option on this.

So, an excellent place to stop, very comfortable and a great breakfast but more flexibility/transparency is needed over breakfast times and fine if you're happy with your bike outside.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedi1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast12, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if the timing of breakfast was not to your liking. However, i would just point out that you did not request an early or earlier breakfast. I agree that owners should cater for the needs of the customers but customers are supposed to inform of needs. As previously mentioned B&Bs tend not to have any staff, particularly non floating around from silly o'clock which is why we offer cold breakfast to walkers doing the Three Peaks and don't do cooked food before 7am. Cyclists, on the whole, seem to find that breakfast at 8am is early enough if they are doing the Way of the Roses and their next stopover is in Pateley Bridge or Ripon. In response to your comments we have, however, amended and clarified the Welcome Letter.

Secondly, I, unfortunately, do not recall there being an issue or any concerns raised about securing your 3k bike but if you had said something we could have brought it inside. Once again my knowledge of bike identification and telepathic powers let me down and for that I can only apologise.

Once again thank you for your review and we are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully in the future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Regards
Martyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oast Guest House

Property: Oast Guest House
Address: 5 Penyghent View, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Oast Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing