We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could have been so much better!”
Review of Oast Guest House

Oast Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oast Guest House
Ranked #13 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Sunny Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It could have been so much better!”
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Having seen the website and paid deposit by post, we were quite looking forward to visiting Oast Guest House after reading it's reviews on here and their own website.

We noticed differences between the website and reality- in as much as the 'TV lounge' pictured on the website was now a diningroom, with a sofa in it...that was the lounge, presumably for five rooms worth of guests to share!

A vegetarian menu was offered, yet they didn't have the ingredients!

Throughout our stay we almost felt as if we were an inconvenience. Toast arrived at the breakfast table before we had even sat to eat and was therefore stone cold! The coffee and tea-making facilities were downstairs, which is fair enough, but one should not have to ask daily for stocks to be replenished!

The welcome and farewell were hurried and insincere.

The Guest House was clean and the rooms were tastefully furnished with ensuite shower-rooms.

We parked in the main road and were advised no different although they state on the website there is parking.

Additional blankets were useful as the rooms didnt get very warm.

To conclude- the Guest House has so much potential, just lacked the warm welcome that can be found in so many other small hotels and guest houses, therefore won't return!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellintrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review, 13 May 2009
In response to this review I would like to accept that changes to the website have lagged behind the refurbishment and alterations within the building.

In response to specific claims a vegetarian menu isn't on offer all the time, although there are lighter meat free options available all the time. If people on booking inform us that they are vegetarians or vegans then we are able to cater for their specific needs. However, if people are unforthcoming about their specific dietary needs it is unreasonable to expect a small establishment to have everything in stock. For example, vegetarian black pudding has a very short life and can't be frozen and therefore is only bought as people request it.

I agree that Tea and Toast arrive together. But it can only arrive after the order for tea or coffee has been taken. Many people want toast prior to breakfast arriving. However once again, if the guest had asked for toast to come with the breakfast or after it would not have been a problem.

Tea and Coffee facilities can be offered within the bedroom if people request a teatray.

The heating within the house is set at 18c. When it is colder the temperature adjusts automatically. This temperature is the most environmentally friendly setting. However if the guest is used to far higher room temperatures they can use the additional blankets or better still they could once again ask for the temperature to be adjusted.

Parking at the rear is available, although access is quite tight. The majority of guests park on the street without any problems. Usually people ask about rear parking and are given the option about access.

It is very difficult for owners/ proprietors to meet guests needs if they do not actually ASK.
I get quite annoyed with people who expect you to be a mind reader or psychic and then review anonymously without having actually said anything face to face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We booked to stay for a short walking break as a small group and our hosts could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble - even leaving our muddy walking boots in their welcoming hallway and helping us with route advice. A warm welcome, home made cakes on arrival and comfortable rooms. Great breakfasts, with a varied menu and delicious food. We had asked for packed lunches our hosts provided and these were also tasty and well-thought out. The 'shower in room' ensuites weren't a problem for our group, and (I think) are in the process of being replaced but there are other rooms with full ensuites if that's important. It's well-situated near the centre of the town with parking outside.

  • Liked — great hosts and lovely food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeinhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

A group of us stayed here to walk the Yorkshire 3 Peaks in August. The owners were pleasant and cooked a very tasty breakfast. They were also accommodating when we arrived late in the evening. It is on the main road out of Settle, just a few minutes walk to the centre and the station, with pleasant views towards the hills from some rooms. The rooms were comfortable - the only disappointment was the facilities weren't really en suite - we had a shower in our room (which might not be ideal for people travelling just as friends!), and a shared toilet in the corridor, which wasn't as we were expecting, but I think other rooms had their own en suite. If you are looking for somewhere to eat, we had an excellent and fantastic value curry at The Royal Spice in town, which is BYO alcohol.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Not having proper ensuite
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

Stayed here for one night en route to the Lake District. Warm welcome from Margaret King. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable, well decorated with an adjacent large en suite shower/bathroom. Excellent and substantial breakfast with home made bread. Oast House is just a couple of minutes walk from Settle town centre where there are good places to eat.

Helpful?
2 Thank billpayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oast Guest House

Property: Oast Guest House
Address: 5 Penyghent View, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Oast Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing