We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of North Craven Life at The Folly
Open today: 13:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
quirky and interesting little gem

This is a wonderful old building 17th century and houses a lovely cafe with the most enormous... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2018
sharpking
,
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Find time for this!

A quirky sort of building in its own right and still in the process of refurbishment. Friendly... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2018
WoolybackWigan
,
Wigan
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
14
13
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
13
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world war local history interesting building friendly staff little gem cake exhibits knitted fireplace topic geology century volunteers cafe line information
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Lovely restored historic building in the centre of Skipton. Delicious looking homemade cakes in the very comfortable cafe. Very friendly helpful staff.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Two adults one nana and two children thoroughly entertained here. Coffee, cake, and hot choc in the cafe all very nice indeed and good value for money then through to the Museum and exhibition. £2.70 for an adult, kids were free. Money well spent highly interesting from learning about the landscape what is made of and how it has evolved to a community to how the community contributed in World War I. Enjoyed by all made our day quite frankly.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Even if you decide not to go round the museum; or if you choose not to sample the delights of the coffee shop, you really should make a point of at least looking at this unusual and rather lovely building.

I mean, just the door looks as though it could star in a hundred movies!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine B, Customer Relations at Museum of North Craven Life at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

It is a lovely building and we are very proud to have this Grade 1 listed property in Settle. Glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

This is an enchanting museum in the heart of Settle. It's located in The Folly, a building with a fascinating history of its own, and the rooms are full of local treasures. The highlights for me were the descriptions of rural life and the exhibition, by the Krafty Knitters, of Settle shop fronts, all depicted in colourful knitted designs. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the Folly Cafe next door must be the best cafe in the town.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Kerrala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine B, Customer Relations at Museum of North Craven Life at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

So glad you enjoyed your visit and we'll pass your lovely comments on to our volunteers and the Coffee House staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

If you want to know about the history of the area you are visiting including the area's contribution to the First World War then this lovely building is well worth an hour or more of your time. We found the WW1 exhibition very moving and are well aware of how much time research takes. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly lady taking admission fees. There is a nice café in the building too. The talented ladies belonging to the local Knitting Group have knitted pictures of the buildings in Settle. I'm not creative at all so was in awe of the work which has gone into these pictures. We enjoyed our visit. It was lovely to see this building coming back to life - congratulations to all concerned.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine B, Customer Relations at Museum of North Craven Life at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit. The Folly Museum is entirely run by volunteers who act as stewards and also research and create the exhibitions. So your lovely comments are especially appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews