We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here as we were attending a friends wedding at Taitlands nearby. The room was decorated very nicely and the whole house was extremely clean. The owners Chris & Jackie were lovely - perfect hosts and very informative. The breakfast was the best too! Right in the heart of Settle and close to all local amenities. We would recommend this guest house and will be returning again soon. Thank you for a brilliant stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Golden Pippin room which had a jacuzzi bath - very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoanneA653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do this fantastic review, we really appreciate your great comments and so pleased you liked Golden Pippin with its relaxing spa bath! – will look forward to welcoming you both back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    39
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
224
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed with Jackie & Chris from the Friday to Monday, a lovely long weekend. We attended a wedding at Taitlands, Jackie organised a taxi for us, above beyond the norm. Our room was the Golden Pippin which was so cosy, with a Jacuzzi Bath in an excellent fitted bathroom. Everywhere was ultra clean throughout. The breakfasts were all lovely, especially the smoked salmon scrabbled eggs. As there is parking available at the guest house this was a huge bonus. The guest house is well situated for all amenities in Settle and two minutes from a lovely Railway Station. We could not have wished for better hosts, we will definitely be going back for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay at our guest house, we are so pleased we were able to help with taxi’s and parking and of course our hospitality. Really hope to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was only at this guest house from 7pm until 6am the next morning but it 11 hours of loveliness! The room as modern yet cosy and had everything you would want; clean fresh towels, comfy beds and tea and biscuits. The hosts were some of the best i've experienced, exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were walking the Yorkshire 3 peaks and Chris and Jackie were up at half 5 making us a full cooked breakfast and porridge - and still smiling! They even heated up our soup in their microwave so we could take it in a flask. I would really like to go back there just for a weekend because it was so lovely :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JH_UK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review with such great comments, we are thrilled you loved your stay with us. Glad to help with the soup, and of course an early breakfast before your challenge. Would be great to see you make a return visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We attended a wedding at Taitlands and this was the perfect place to stay. The room was very clean and decorated really nice. The Hosts are very friendly and helpful. They ordered our taxi for the morning making our day hassle free. It's in the heart of the town so you can stroll around the local pubs and restaurants. Will definitely go back - we had the room with shower and Jacuzzi which was a nice treat.

Room Tip: If you are going to need a taxi book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bingleytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for doing this lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed the facilities of “Fuggles” and liked our hospitality – that was a useful Room Tip with regards to taxis! Look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here on the first night of the Way of the Roses cycle. Chris & Jackie went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was furnished to a high standard and breakfast was lovely. We recieved a warm welcome from the moment we knocked on the front door, we were greatful for the extra air in our tyres and the offer of the lift up to the of the hill out of Settle - Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123skin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time on your return from completing the Way of the Roses ride to write this great review. It’s nice to read you found the room a high standard and enjoyed the breakfast before setting off. Glad to help with ensuring the tyre pressures were correct for your onward journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were cycling the Way of the roses which literally passes this excellent b&b in the centre of town. We had a jacuzzi bath to ease away the aches and pains of tackling some of the Yorkshire dales, and a hearty breakfast fuelled our next stage uphill and down dale to Ripon. Thanks for keeping our bikes safe, providing us with a pump and even offering to take us or our luggage to the top of the hill!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank petewoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review. We hope that the climb was not too tough and congratulations for carrying your own luggage.
We hope that the rest of your trip was equally enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just come back from a lovely 2-night stay at the King William, right in the heart of Settle. Very quiet considering its location. The rooms were lovely - nice Fair Trade tea & coffee selection and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was nice - our room did not have a shower but had a jacuzzi bath instead which was divine, this did have a hand-held shower attachment. Very clean. Breakfast was really good - lots of choice. The owners were nice and friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Look at the website - each room has a name and there are pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminL535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for doing this great review on your return home, it’s good to read you both enjoyed the spa bath in our Golden Pippin room and had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Property: King William the Fourth Guest House
Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William The Fourth Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing