We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King William the Fourth Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very friendly, and helpful. Excellent breakfast, we will definitely go again. Central location absolutely super for walking or touring the Dales. Only slight issue is that we would have preferred a shower cubicle to the complicated and slow filling whirlpool bath.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Many thanks for writing your excellent review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your few days in Settle and liked our hospitality; we understand that some people prefer a shower cubicle. However we feel the spa bath in Golden Pippin has very high water pressure if turned on past the safety click which enables quicker filling of the large bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for King William the Fourth Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We received a warm welcome on arrival . We stayed in a downstairs room which was very comfortable with an accessible bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choices.
Our dog had her own mat, bowls and towel. We thoroughly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much for doing this excellent review, we are so delighted you all enjoyed your stay and Fudge enjoyed her facilities in our Black Sheep Room! Great to read you loved the breakfast and would recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in this lovely Guest House for 4 nights. The rooms are very nice and well serviced with good facilities and high quality products in the bathrooms. Jackie and Chris go out of their way to make sure their guests have a pleasant stay and are very helpful with tips on visiting the local area, etc. The breakfasts were superb. I strongly recommend this Guest House, it must be the best place to stay in Settle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this excellent review, we are pleased you found everything to a good standard and enjoyed your stay. It’s always nice to share the knowledge of Settle and the local area to make everyone’s stay that extra special. Many thanks for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Lovely warm and friendly welcome, we stayed in 'Fuggles' for the night, the jacuzzi bath added the extra touch we wanted. A good choice at breakfast. Jackie was very helpful advising us on local waterfalls to view which was very appreciated-thanks. Would happily stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Fuggles' well worth that bit extra for the sunken jacuzzi bath
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review so quickly after your stay, we are delighted you enjoyed our Guest House and especially the double Jacuzzi. Hope you found and liked Catrigg Force waterfalls on your drive! Hopefully we will welcome you back one day if visiting the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We came to Yorkshire last weekend as guests at a wedding and stayed at the 'King William IV' Guesthouse.
We rented the 'Fuggles' room at the top of the house as nothing else was available.
More expensive than the other rooms but it was worth it for the facilities provided in the room.
The owners are very friendly and the accommodation was spotless and the breakfast was excellent and very welcome during our stay.
The location of the guesthouse is very central in the heart of Settle (a lovely market town) and ideal for any stay in the area.
We would certainly use this bed and breakfast again if we come back to this part of Yorkshire

Best Wishes

Pat and Brian Thomas

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to do this lovely review and we are really pleased you found the extra comforts that “Fuggles” was worth those extra few pounds. It’s great to read you enjoyed the breakfast and hospitality and of course Settle! Really hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I together with some friends stayed at the King William IV Guesthouse for 4 nights as it was our Golden Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived in our room, Jackie had organised some flowers on behalf of my husband and left a card for us which was very thoughtful. My husband is disabled and has difficulty with stairs so the Black Sheep room was ideal for us as it was on the ground floor and had a wet room. Jackie and Chris were a fountain of knowledge and helped us decide where to go every day. The breakfasts were superb - well done Chris - and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent Guesthouse.

Room Tip: The Black Sheep room is ideal for those with mobility difficulties as it is downstairs and has a wet...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WendyStIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review, we were so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us on this special Anniversary and were able to extend our hospitality to you all. Glad you found our “Black Sheep” room ideal for you and your husband and just to note we have on order the extra grab rail for the toilet. Maybe if you are back in the area you may want to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The guest house has been very cleverly converted from a redundant pub. The rooms are of a good size and well equipped. Breakfast is very good and for those who walk the Yorkshire 3 Peaks it can be served at 5.30/6am - brilliant! The owners are very pleasant and even looked after our two dogs for the evening. Will definitely go back when in North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Firstly let me offer our thanks for taking the time to post such a good review of our premises. We are really pleased that both the guest house and we left you with such a good vibes and we hope that you will be visiting the area and ourselves again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William The Fourth Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing