We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Thank you for a fantastic weekend for all my family. (We booked all 6 rooms). The King William the Fourth Guest House is very clean, has comfy beds and all the rooms are of the highest quality. Jackie and Chris were the perfect hosts and the breakfasts was excellent. I would not hesitate in recomending this Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We are so delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us for your celebration, and you found everything of a high quality - it’s always nice to know you would recommend us. Thank you so much for doing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Immaculate room with thoughtful touches, gorgeous jacuzzi, and delicious breakfast. Very sorry the rooms were fully booked otherwise we would have stayed another night. Definitely a place to return to. thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clairabelle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for doing this lovely review and we are really pleased you loved the Jacuzzi in Fuggles and our Yorkshire Breakfast. It certainly is a room that is popular for weekend’s away, the availability & direct on-line booking can be checked through our own website, it would be great to welcome you back for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this B+B for 2 nights to explore this region of The Dales. Our room was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean and cosy. The bed and Spa bath were excellent. Jackie and Chris were the perfect hosts providing us with their local knowledge and excellent breakfasts. Not much else to add that hasn't been said before. Looking forward to our next stay in the spring 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write these comments about our Guest House, we are delighted you found all aspects of your stay great, and we certainly look forward to a return visit next spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a delightful house.
Clean comfortable rooms.
Scrumptious breakfasts.
Excellent Hosts with good practicle local information.
Thankyou.

Just to repeat (for enough words!)
What a delightful house.
Clean comfortable rooms.
Scrumptious breakfasts.
Excellent Hosts with good practicle local information.
Thankyou.

Room Tip: Didn't see a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NellyConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

A “double” thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review on Tripadvisor! It’s great to read you felt you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfasts. We are glad you found our information useful and it was nice to meet you all to extend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in order to attend a wedding at nearby Taitlands. I had an early few issues before our arrival and these were dealt with without question by the owners in our favour which was a real relief, and a good start to our break.

Our room was spotlessly clean and a good size, with a great bathroom. Really unfortunately however, and I'm not sure why this would be as it's fairly easily rectified, as we entered the room the very first thing we saw was loose panelling, which we ended up noticing in 2 places. It all looked as though it was where pipes were being boxed in and was a shame on the work carried out to the rest of the room and the tatty look belied the quality and cleanliness of the rest of the room. Additionally, as we had wedding clothes, there was a very little hanging space for them. If we were staying for a short leisure break this wouldn't have been too much of an issue as we would have had more folded clothes but as this is often used for wedding guests I really think it is worth mentioning. Also, there were no net curtains and facing into the building opposite meant the curtains were constantly being opened and shut for light vs privacy as we were getting ready in the middle of the day.

Breakfast was freshly cooked, delicious and plentiful. As well as the room, all areas of the B&B were spotlessly clean.

We arrived by train which is a very short, easy walk from the B&B and it is situated very centrally to the town and given the traffic issues suffered by so many other guests, highly recommended.

All in all we had a very good stay at the King William Fourth. Clean, friendly owners, good breakfast. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: If you are staying for a wedding ask the advice of the owners which room would be best if you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBBEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your in depth review, it’s very pleasing overall you had a very good stay and would definitely recommend us. We completely understand the slight issue with hanging space and that is something we can address. With regards to the panels in "Flying Herbert" this room was already scheduled for a complete refurb this month, we did want to do a complete replacement on this area rather than a bodge job with this small gap in the corner of the room behind the entrance door. We always try to assist where we can with early arrival by train, and are delighted this gave you a good start to your stay in Settle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful B&B at the heart of Settle. The room was immaculate and the beds a dream. Jackie and Chris were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much for them. The breakfast was amazing and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to do this lovely review, we are so happy that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our hospitality – from the beds to the breakfast! Hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in October,we selected it after the excellent reviews and the very informative web page.
The guest house was in the centre of Settle,5 minutes walk from the trains station.
We were given recommendations of where to eat .the 2 Indian restaurants are good as they are BYO .
Breakfast was delicious...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank digger186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this great review on our Guest House, we are really happy we lived up to the expectations from previous reviews and enjoyed the breakfasts on both mornings. Many thanks for a recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Settle hotels
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Littlebank Country House
4.5 mi away
Game Cock Inn
Game Cock Inn
#1 of 6 in Austwick
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: £81 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William The Fourth Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing