We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed for the bank holiday weekend and had a lovely experience. The owners were very friendly and welcoming giving me advice on local places to go. I was also allowed my dog with me which was great! She was welcomed as warmly as I was and we both had a comfortable stay. The breakfast was delicious and served with a smile and a chat. If I could of stayed an extra night I would of done and next time I'm visiting i will defiantly be staying again!

Room Tip: I stayed downstairs and am a light sleeper so heard people going out early for walking. I would reco...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks for writing your lovely review, we are pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfast. We are sorry you were disturbed by the walkers leaving in the morning but it wouldn’t deter you from returning back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for King William the Fourth Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

On arrival at King William the forth guest house we were made very welcome and helped in with our luggage. The room was beautiful with a large Jacuzzi bath couldn't ask for anything better, nothing was to much trouble for the owners Chris and Jackie they are both very lovely people. Me and my husband were doing the three peak challenge and had to be up very early and at the start point by 6.30am and Chris and Jackie were so lovely they had are breakfast ready for 5.30am and made us a beautiful packed lunch for the day ahead. The breakfast in the morning was cooked to perfection, what more can you ask for the perfect guest house with the perfect hosts. We will definitely be returning thank you again for the perfect weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 019_Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review, with comments like this it’s very humbling and we do thank you. For anyone doing the 3 Peaks challenge we feel it is important to ensure everyone has a good breakfast beforehand and of course the Jacuzzi in our Fuggles room does have its reward at the end of the walk! We look forward to your return visit to extend our hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

On arrival at King William the Forth guest house we couldn't have been made more welcome after a long days cycling. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and although we didn't have a dip, the Jacuzzi bath looked fantastic. The following mornings breakfast was cooked to perfection and again nothing was too much trouble when we all seemed to order our breakfast cooked differently. I would certainly recommend this guest house to friends and family and wouldn't hesitate staying again. One last bonus was that our heavy pannier bags were transported to the top of High Hill leaving us to cycle the two mile climb unladen which made things so much easier after the hearty breakfast. And the cost of the bag transfer....? a few quid in the mountain rescue collection, a very worthy cause.

Room Tip: Fuggles has the Jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank yorkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing this detailed review for us, it’s fantastic to know that we were able to accommodate you all so well. Recommending us for our comfortable rooms and Yorkshire breakfasts is very pleasing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked for two nights,we were so impressed by the room,breakfasts and most of all the hosts,Jackie and Chris that we stayed another night!
We travelled on the fantastic Settle to Carlisle railway,that and a day exploring the Dales made for a wonderful short break.
Cannot recommend the guest house highly enough, thanks Jackie and Chris.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisePalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the stay and your trips round the Dales. Your lovely comments make it all worthwhile and it’s lovely to be so highly recommended!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Settle is a beautiful town with lots of character and well worth a visit. I am so glad that we chose this property for our stay as it is run by a warm and professional couple who made us so welcome. The property is in an ideal location, immaculately clean, stylish and breakfast set us up for the day. My only regret is that we did not book for longer so we shall just have to return ........ I highly recommend this property and town when visiting North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 17Emma17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing this fantastic review, we are delighted you all enjoyed both Settle & our guest house. Your comments are very kind and we certainly do hope you return one day, it would be great to extend our hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

lovely place to stay - warm welcome; great shower; fantastic breakfast and they booked us a place to eat on our arrival which was lovely.
would recommend. On cycle path for way of the Roses and prepared us for the uphill start in the morning

Room Tip: ground floor has great shower. Apparently a room upstairs has a twin jacuzzi
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank witchofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for writing this great review, it’s so pleasing you found us a lovely place to stay on your cycle route. You are correct – our Fuggles Room in the loft has a double sunken Jacuzzi bath and a separate shower (best of both!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very warm welcome, very clean, comfortably bend, great shower. We stayed here may bank hoiiday weekend to do the 3 peaks Early breakfast at 6.30 so we could the 3 peaks early was great. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, we are so pleased you believe we are the best place to stay in Settle. Glad the breakfast got you prepared for a 3 Peaks walk – well done on completing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
605 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
551 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William The Fourth Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing