We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay with a lovely breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay with a lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. We arrived to a nice welcome and advice given on a place to get some lunch and a walk if we wanted. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous and just enough to keep us going all day. I would recommend staying here as it's right in the town centre and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laus_W87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Many thanks for writing your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the breakfast and for your recommendation to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    39
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
224
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Jack and Chris were great hosts and I have absolutely no qualms about recommending this hotel to others.We were cycling from Peterborough to Kendal when we dropped into settle in the evening. A little chat with Chris and we were booked into Fuggles and dinner was booked. Jacuzzi and out for our Meal,Perfect!

Room Tip: Fuggles is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank castorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to place this lovely review. It is very pleasing to us that you enjoyed our hospitality, restaurant recommendations and of course, Fuggles !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from a weekend in Settle and stopped in the wonderful King William the Fourth Guest House. Can't thank Jackie and Chris enough - amazing hosts - nothing was too much trouble including drying out our wet walking jackets!!! The room was homely luxury - the double jacuzzi bath much welcomed after a trek around Ingleton water fall walk. The breakfast was delicious and certainly set us up for the day. We will return and will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Fuggles was a fab room for a romantic break
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house, drying of jackets was a simple assist after your very wet walk ! We were pleased that you enjoyed Fuggles so much and will be happy to welcome you and or your family and friends in the future sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very welcoming staff. Lovely room with everything you need. Also a very nice breakfast in the morning. Would definately recommend and stay again. I did the way of the roses cycle route and found it very easy to locate of the trail

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomnugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments, it was great to read you enjoyed your overnight stay with us whilst on your bicycle tour. It would be lovely to welcome you back and maybe you can try out our local off-road trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. we booked it because of the Fuggles room with double Jacuzzi bath and weren't disappointed, It really was luxury and we had a wonderful time. Jackie and Chris bend over backward to help, and provided us with glasses and a cooler for our champagne. The breakfasts were lovely too. We aren't walkers but its a perfect base if you are, we walked to the Talbot pub which is 2 doors away and sat in the beer garden in the sunshine.We decided to do the 3 pubs rather the 3 peaks ! We went for a meal at the Italian restaurant which was lovely also. All in all a wonderful, friendly place to stay and i can't wait to go back

Room Tip: we chose the top room which had the luxury bathroom, although all rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you so much for writing this brilliant review, we are so happy you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and glad the Jacuzzi bath didn’t disappoint. It will be lovely to welcome you back one day for another challenge of the “three” variety!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We found this lovely B and B in Settle, where we stayed for the rail journey to Carlisle. Jackie and Chris were really welcoming and friendly and the rooms our party had were lovely. Food was great and plenty of choice. Well situated and handy for the town.

Room Tip: It's a B & B so not so much choice of rooms, but all we saw were good, they have a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review on King William the Fourth Guest House, we are really pleased you found our rooms lovely and breakfast great! It was nice to meet and welcome you to Settle, as part of your trip on the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in Settle as I was taking on the Yorkshire 3 Peaks challenge. This great B & B was a real find. Jackie and Chris welcomed us warmly and showed us to our room at the top of the house . Well worth the climb though as the Jacuzzi was very welcome after my arduous trek! The choice for breakfast is really good well cooked and presented using plenty of local produce and home made bread. The full Yorkshire is definitely recommended .
All in all a fantastic place to stay and one we'll visit again.

Room Tip: Fuggles is the room to have if you need to relax after a hard day on the hills. Share the Jacuzzi wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We both really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review, we are delighted that you found us a great place to stay and certainly the Jacuzzi was an added bonus after your 3 Peaks Challenge! We would love to welcome you back one day should you come back to Settle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.0 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Property: King William the Fourth Guest House
Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William The Fourth Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing