We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, clean, modern with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William the Fourth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stopped here for the weekend when walking the three peaks. The room had recently been refurbished with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was superb with fresh fruit and full cooked english. I had an early start on the Saturday and they very kindly provided breakfast earlier. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickb_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 465 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2009

My fourth visit in the last six months - cycling with a friend; waqlking with daughter; and twice solo to enjoy this wonerful part of the world. Truly warm and welcoming, the quality of rooms is excellent and a lovely breakfast with both healthy and not so healthy options. Highly recommended for a peaceful break in the very pleasanr town of Settle.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfBobSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

My wife, two teenage daughters and I stayed at King William Fourth Guest House for two nights in Spring 2009. And we had a wonderful time. The rooms are decorated to an extremely high standard and have great facilities; the owners were very welcoming; and the breakfasts were superb. Settle is a peaceful town which was an ideal base for walking and cycling and just taking it easy. I recommend King William Fourth without hesitation as a geat place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmeston_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Me and my wife stayed in the King William for two nights around Easter weekend and loved it. It has been recently renovated to a very high standard whilst keeping the charm of the original building. We stayed in the Blue Room where the bathroom was superb, with a great power shower and all new fittings. We were supplied with nice big towels and the room, as with the whole building, was spotless. The bedroom had been decorated beautifully and the big bed was very comfy.

A lovely cooked breakfast awaited us every morning, I had the full english while the wife had salmon and scrambled eggs, which she rated the best she had tasted! There was also very nice fruit salad, fruit juice and a good selection of cereals.

It is centrally located in Settle, which gave great location to a variety of other local villages such as Ingelton for a lovely waterfall walk, Skipton, Malham amongst others.

The owners are very friendly, helpful and gave good advice regarding visits to the local area. We recommend the Highway Man restaurant in Burrow near Kirkby Lonsdale, which is 20mins away, but book before you go!

All in all this B&B is a little gem and we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Settle hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
365 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Littlebank Country House
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#17 of 22 in Settle
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range: £73 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. We have six delightfully individual en suite rooms which blend period features with contemporary decor. We are only able to make a minimum of a two night booking at weekends; these could be either Friday & Saturday or Saturday & Sunday nights. Our full availability is only shown on our own website where you can also reserve your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William The Fourth Guest House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing