We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

The Royal Oak Settle
Ranked #22 of 31 Restaurants in Settle
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Situated in the heart of the picturesque North Yorkshire market town of Settle the Royal Oak is a must on everyone’s itinerary when visiting the area. The Royal Oak offers a fresh looking country inn packed with character and ambience. Our professional team is ready to greet you and take away your daily stresses
Restaurant details
Description: Situated in the heart of the picturesque North Yorkshire market town of Settle the Royal Oak is a must on everyone’s itinerary when visiting the area. The Royal Oak offers a fresh looking country inn packed with character and ambience. Our professional team is ready to greet you and take away your daily stresses
W Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Went for a meal on a Monday evening. Recently been done out so hoped for great things. Menu quite small, shared nachos to start which had a very nice salsa on. I had veggie burger and chips and my friend had normal burger. It came with side salad, beautifully presented, chips in bucket, salad had diced peppers etc on but an odd fishy taste to the dressing!. Veggie burger was nice. Other options would have been sausage, fish and chips or ham and egg or soup. Had a children's menu which looked to be the standard fare, we had 2 halves of beer and bill was around £23. Didn't see a mention of desserts anywhere.
Friendly landlord .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgeWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Manager at The Royal Oak Settle, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Thanks for leaving us a review

we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and we have taken on your other comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great beer.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Austwick and decided to eat in Settle. We chose this pub as it was near where we parked. Clean and tidy in side with spotless toilets (always a plus point) to boot.
Greated by a friendly barman I had a pint of the guest beer which was very good. Food was ordered including a side of garlic bread as our sons starter which was provided by friendly staff. Some place have difficulty grasping the concept if there is no starter my son likes/fancies.The garlic bread was very tasty as were our starters. My wife had the leek and potato soup which is her favourite and I had the black pudding.
Mains were the sea bass for Wifey and a #10 burger (the one with black pudding) my son had the goujons. The mains were piping hot and very tasty with a large portion.
Would go back again if we are ever in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Mimfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak Settle, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

We are so happy to have this sort of a review and will ensure it is passed around the rest of the team

Thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“NOT TOO BAD!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited with friends who have had a caravan in Settle for over a year, however, they had never been in The Royal Oak as they said it looked a bit scruffy.

It has now had a major refurbishment, so we decided to venture inside for a drink.

The place looks quite big from the outside, but in fact is really small inside, so much so that the person in charge had to open the function room as it was getting quite busy.

The bar staff were really nice and friendly and they had a good selection of beers.

The ambience wasn't so good for us as we were forced to sit in the function room, but that wasn't any fault of the pub, it was just getting too busy.

We would certainly visit again, but probably wouldn't spend a night in there.

Overall, it's worth having a drink in there.

Helpful?
1 Thank davey102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak Settle, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

its a shame it wasn't busier for both of us. Unfortunately there is always that first person who has to open the next room...

We hope to see you again when your next in the area

Thanks
Mat
Country village inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a brilliant meal at the Royal Oak last evening, the staff couldn't do enough to help and made us feel very welcome . Will certainly visit again and recommend to friends

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speedwaygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak Settle, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

It is so nice to get a review like yours and i will ensure it is passed around the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again when your next in the area

Thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“No food!!!! What a shambles”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed in settle recently and decided to have lunch at the royal oak.unfortunately,bearing in mind this is only a very small menu to start with,when we ordered we were told they had no chips?the majority of the few items included chips which made the menu useless.girl said maybe you should go else where?
What sort of a chef running a kitchen,upon knowing there were no frozen chips on site would just not bother.just a single brain cell would say (tell you what I'll get a bag of spuds and peel and chop some chips),not difficult.
Real shame really as the premises are very nice,just a shame they are losing a lot of custom through such a pathetic situation.
Get yourself a manager.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak Settle, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Just opening the site we started with a selected menu to test the waters adn see what people liked in the area. I appologise if you didn't enjoy your visit to us. Our kitchen i'm sure would love to have 'Frozen' chips but sadly for them we do our own chips which means peeling and chopping them before cooking them twice.

I had brought your review up with management at The Royal Oak who confirmed that chips were being prepped and just wasn't quite ready when you made your order. Had you waited a short while then you would have been able to enjoy them like everyone else did that day.

Thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Settle also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing