We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding!”
Review of Number 5

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 5
Ranked #37 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

No 5 is a fantastic B&B! Everything was bang on! My room was lovely & clean, well furnished & equipped, the shared bathroom was spotless & even had cotton buds in there (Bonus!) & the service from Mary & Jane was exemplary! So friendly & welcoming, it was like staying with relatives! Couldn't have asked for more variety at breakfast, everything on offer & the kippers were bob on. As for the price, you will not get the same experience anywhere else for such a reasonable rate. Simply outstanding. Highly recommend anyone staying in Whitby to see if there's s room free at No 5!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonGorgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Always stay at Number 5 when in Whitby and this stay was just as enjoyable as all the rest. Very clean, quiet, comfortable with a warm welcome and the breakfast is the best of anywhere. Free to come and go as you please with the town centre just 5 - 10 minutes walk. Sea gulls can keep you awake at night but you even have ear plugs provided! Have no problems recommending this B&B anytime - just book early as it can fill up quickly, particularly in the holidays.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Yorkshire_Chiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the third visit to Number 5 and excellent as always.Stayed in a single this time but was comfy with a great view of the Abbey.The owners are fantastic and the whole atmosphere is so relaxed. I have stayed in loads of B n B's and the the breakfast here is the best by far, trying to arrange a visit in November for me and some friends as I type, top notch in all areas!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorkshireMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very lovely guest house. Clean, looked nice, comfy. Had a smashing breakfast. Definitely will be going back. Really friendly owners. Very good value for money. Nicely decorated and some very funny postcards to read. If you go to Whitby, stay here!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrFeedback2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

10 OUT OF 10. WOULD RECOMEND TO ANYONE WANTING A STAY IN LOVELY WHITBY.
Spotless clean only 5 mins from centre shops and lots of pubs. Hosts were lovely and couldnt do enough for us especially Jayne. Breakfast excellent and lots of variey. Nicely decorated and like home from home all the little extras meant you didnt have to take anything with you all shampoo, showergel,moisturizer wich smell lovely, cotton buds, dressing gown, slippers even face wipes were all supplied. Beds comfy too. Would return for sure. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a Balcony its a lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here with my Brother and Sister in Law for the week end. They have stayed here on a few occasions, but this was our first visit to No 5, and we were very impressed. We got a lovely warm welcome from Jane on arrival, and she showed us to our rooms. Our room was comfortable, clean, and bright. Nice little touches in the room with the shower gel, hand gel, shampoo, and moisturiser, even make up wipes :)
The breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice to set you up for the day. Our compliments to Mary who does the cooking.
The breakfast room is quirky with all the little trinkets, and memrorabillia scattered around, certainly a talking point whilst eating our breakfast.
Glad we stayed here, and we will certainly book again when we visit Whitby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy123085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for a last minute weekend away with husband and son (7). We were greated by Jane very warmly, the rooms were clean and well equipped. Very good attention to detail. Breakfast was the best I have had at a B&B. Excellent location, short walk to town, shops and bars. We already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairecodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 155 in Whitby
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 5

Address: 5 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
No 5 Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing