We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably Excellent”
Review of Assam House Whitby

Assam House Whitby
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Assam House Whitby
Ranked #116 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed in August for 8 days for folk week again. It's a brilliant place to stop in. Great access to town, parking on the road, on a bus route. Dave is very welcoming and very helpful;has no strict rules other than consideration for others. He cooks excellent scrambled eggs and provided me with custard creams every day.

Room 2 is clean, quiet, has it's own shower and toilet/sink in separate room. It's ideal for me:)

A great stay again and I'll be back for next year. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guitar73girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from Assam House after 4 days, we have had a brilliant 4 days. Assam house is very clean and very comfortable. We were greeted by Dave the owner who couldn't do enough for you. Best full english breakfast ever but Dave will do any thing you ask for, nothing is a problem. Hope to return sometime loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

WE went for 3 nights including new year yet again faultless .Clean, food supurb .David a fab host .We went to the shooting/rifle club where David caters for the buffet ,the best new year we have had ,all the regulars were so frienndly and made us so welcome especailly Bob and janet cant wait to go again next new year booked already .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodwin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Assam house for 4 nights, we were welcomed warmly by David whom throughout our stay could not do enough for us. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet with a TV and DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities, also a fabulous en suite bathroom which is actually bigger than our own. There are no hard and fast rules, which is always nice, just consideration for other guests which goes without saying. We were able to park our car right outside the house. A short walk to the town centre and surrounding areas really made our stay fantastic.A full English breakfast was on offer every morning along with a choice of cereals, fresh orange juice and toast, we were even able to choose what time we wanted breakfast which was great. Coming back to Assam house in the winter.... cant wait!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mel N Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Dave is brilliant. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and his service is second to none. He knows the area so well and is able to give routes for us to ride on our motorcycle. He is also knowledgeable on Whitby itself past and present. The rooms are clean and comfortable and so are the beds. Dave also tailors breakfast to your own personal needs. Nothing is a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Furzweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

stopped at the Assam house 2 year ago for new year . What a fab clean place ,beakfast first class No frills just clean basic b+b with a great host David who cannot do enough for you .great location for all whitby, going back for this new year cant wait .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goodwin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

As newlyweds, we were so exicted to be on our honeymoon and Assam house was just perfect for us! In a great location, with free on street parking, just moments away from the town. A bus route is seconds away from the house for those who may get tired from the big hills, however Whitby is very hilly and most people would expect this!
On our arrival, dave greeted us, and showed us to our room (3). The room was lovely, amazing finish with a great colour and view to the garden. The couple even added a just married card and flowers to the room! After the kitten also greeted us, we went about looking around our room. As a housekeeper, I found myself looking deeply for dust, or dirt and found nothing!! The room was spotless, and we even found a teddy bear in the wardobe! Many dvds and book are also there to use at your own will!
There are no rules, only common sense!! We were also trusted with a front of house key!
The rooms were slighty too warm, with the heavy duvet, however id rather be too warm, then cold.
The water heater is quite noisy, but other then flushing the loo, no sounds could be heard at night!
The breakfast was great, fresh orange, milk, tea or coffee, as well as cereal, full english and toast. As much or little as you like, ( apart from fry up). The only fault was we were not asked what we didnt want on our breakfast, however as much fault of ours!
This was the best weekend we have ever had, and we will be back next june if not before!!
Thank you very much Dave, Rad and little kitty for a lovely weekend!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsGEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,187 reviews
1 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
2 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
5.1 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 155 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assam House Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assam House Whitby

Address: 80 Stakesby Road, Whitby YO21 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £25 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Assam House Whitby, a small and friendly Guest House run by resident owners. Assam House provides clean, comfortable accommodation in a quiet suburban location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing