We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florence Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Florence Guest House
Ranked #69 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner on Monday 12th August for the final night of the Whitby Regatta. We booked it last minute, the day before and Alan and Janet, proprietor's of the guest house where very accommodating. Overall the bedroom was lovely, clean and comfortable although we thought it was a little bit small but nothing major. It was a beautifully decorated room with En-suite bathroom with a power shower perfect for waking us up with in the morning. The dining room was next door to our room so not far to walk in the morning. The breakfast was the best we have had in a long time. Plenty of selection and service with a smile from Janet. You could have literally what you wanted. The cooked breakfast was delicious and you could have as much or as little as you wanted. The Hotel was in a good central location for all amenities in Whitby and it's right next to Pannet Park which is a wonderful place to walk around if you want some peace and quiet or a romantic walk. I would definatly recommend this place to any one. We're already thinking of going again and I will be telling everyone how nice our hosts were. Thank you for a wonderful stay Janet and Alan. We look. Forward to seeing you in the not too distant future. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pw18968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at The Florence which is a delightful B & B with very welcoming hosts. The room was spotlessly clean and towels changed each day! Excellent in room facilities and breakfasts you don't need to eat for the rest of the day!! Very well placed for a gentle stroll into town and opposite a lovely park. Would recommend without hesitation !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

sorry for delay had trouble getting on to trip Advisor .from a very wet start in June things got better on arrival at Florence, Janet and Alan are superb hosts of this guest house immaculately clean and breakfast to die for (probably would if i stayed for a long time) sets you up for the day. if you need to know anything about Whitby just ask. no parking of course being so close to Centre but 150 yards up to mini roundabout to the side of Pannet park free all time on street parking all the best to Alan and Janet

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington Cheshire.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

If there is a best guest house competition in the UK the Florence will win it every time. This is our second visit and it really is superb. We recently stayed in a hotel in Venice, post cruise, and the cost was FIVE times what we paid at the Florence but we did not have tea and coffee making facilities, we did not have biscuits, we did not have a power shower, we did not have the best breakfast we have ever tasted and we did not have Janet, the owner of the Florence. You can book the Florence with complete confidence, the Florence really is superb.

Room Tip: Try and get room five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmurphypsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

If you want a guest house that gives a genuine warm welcome, provides excellent accommodation and a fantastic breakfast cooked fresh every morning then look no further than the Florence guest house in Whitby, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Florence, what can I say a warm welcome ,the rooms were immaculate ,and have all you require for your stay ,the Florence is spotlessly clean ,the great breakfast sets you up for the day and both Janet and Alan are great hosts ,wonderful location ,2 minutes from Whitby centre ,and amenities, park the car and forget about it ,as you are 2minutes from the train and bus station ,will definitely be back as its fantastic value ,and will recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room floor which is to the rear of the hotel,was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andlyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay - May 28th and 31st - at the Florence and can honestly recommend this guest house to anyone. Janet and Alan are very friendly hosts, nothing is too much trouble, all rooms are very clean and extremely well furnished. The owners invest heavily in their guest house and it shows. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful (definitely the very best that we have ever had !!), they both clean the rooms, so they are definitely "hands-on" hosts; and everything is all very organised and tidy. The only (very minor) gripe was that the street is one of the main thoroughfares into the town centre from the harbour side; and sometimes some revellers going back and forth can be noisy, but this is typical of a seaside town in 2013 I guess, and, of course, no fault of the hosts. That said, you have a wonderful view of Pannett Park opposite; and the guest house is only 5 mins walk from the town, with all the restaurants and ameneties, so it couldn't be handier, really. All in all, 5 stars !! Well done Janet and Alan -please keep up the good work and we will definitely return to see you again later in the year...Lesley and Christopher.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#111 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overdale Guest House
Overdale Guest House
#30 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#51 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#42 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#60 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Linen Guest House
White Linen Guest House
#28 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Guest House

Property: Florence Guest House
Address: 4 Broomfield Terrace | Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence is a family run Guest House in the heart of the historic town of Whitby. We are centrally located within a short walk of almost all that Whitby has to offer. Our rooms are elegant, functional and provide the discerning traveller with all the essentials. Our breakfast is legendary and sourced locally for quality and freshness. Our welcome is warm & sincere. Come and let us make your Whitby experience special! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Florence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing