We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Florence Guest House
Ranked #79 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for my partners birthday weekend and what a great place to stay, we had the whole of the top floor to ourselves, the room and bathroom very clean, comfy bed and great breakfast. Florence house is in a great location for the harbour. Janet the landlady is very knowledgeable about the area and ask about the old spa well at the back of the building. The only downside that some folk may have is that there is no parking at the B & B but there is off-street very close by. I will definitely recommend Florence House and will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank borolass65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although I was only in this guest house for a few hours as I was leaving very early the following morning to go on a fishing boat, I was so glad I found this little gem. The welcome was warm, the rooms were incredibly clean (something that cannot be said of all Whitby guest houses) and the price was competitive.
While not exactly on the harbour front, the railway station and harbour are only a 2-3 minute walk away. Close enough to the centre that you do not have to hike, far enough away that it is not noisy.
As I left at 6am, I did not get to have breakfast so can't comment on the quality of the food, but if the rest of the accommodation was anything to go by, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Park in the harbour car park and when walking to the accommodation, walk a little further up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Comfortable and clean and in a great location. Janet is a friendly knowledgeable landlady. We had the whole of the top floor and we loved it. Great views of Pannet park and only about 100 metres to the Harbour . Breakfast is freshly made to order and is delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone and will definitely return soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARLES J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night this weekend. A lovely, spotlessly clean room, with excellent bedding. Very warm welcome. Excellent breakfast and great service. I couldn't find the hairdryer and so went downstairs to find the proprietor, who kindly gave me her own hairdryer. Well placed for the town centre - only a five minute walk. All in all, an excellent stay. Will definitely book again. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartleyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely big room and bathroom on the top floor, completely quiet and private. Fabulous breakfast, freshly cooked and delicious. One of the best on this visit. A lovely welcome from lovely people. Nice bed with good bedding. Nicely placed for the town and station.

Room Tip: Lovely room at the top but lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnSW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Gorgeous place, immaculately clean, great, friendly hosts, beautiful rooms, fantastic breakfasts - well cooked with plenty of choice, superb location, comfy beds, very reasonably priced, wonderful weekend's holiday - shame we had to go home!!!

Room Tip: Ignore the swimming pool rating, there isn't one but my p hone's keyboard is very small &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We would highly recommend this lovely guest house in the heart of Whitby. Literally a five minute walk into the town centre. Such a warm welcome from the start and the guesthouse had such a homely feel. Janet was so lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing , there is something for everyone!
So to sum it up 10/10 and we would recommend it to anyone . Great value too for a splendid guesthouse in a great place and we will definitely be going back as we had such a great weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSWhitby, Owner at Florence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Martin
What a lovely review, many thanks for taking the time & for the wonderful positive comments. Really hope you are back our way soon, it was a pleasure
Kind Regards
Janet & Alan @ The Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
1 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
5.3 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 155 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Guest House

Address: 4 Broomfield Terrace | Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £72 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence is a family run Guest House in the heart of the historic town of Whitby. We are centrally located within a short walk of almost all that Whitby has to offer. Our rooms are elegant, functional and provide the discerning traveller with all the essentials. Our breakfast is legendary and sourced locally for quality and freshness. Our welcome is warm & sincere. Come and let us make your Whitby experience special! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Florence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing