We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least”

Big Sky Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Sky Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #125 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Whilst the owner Brian is extremely friendly, myself and I partner regretted staying at this B&B. The location is great and the bedrooms are clean. However, and this is a big however: We were given no choice whatsoever at breakfast time, we were shocked to have a full English just served to us without even asking if that's what we wanted. I've never experienced this anywhere else. On 2 out of 3 mornings did I find what looked like dog hair in my breakfast. This was just unacceptable. I also found a breakfast of one sausage, one slice of bacon, some beans, tomatoes and mushrooms to be very lacking for the price I paid to stay here.
Noises kept us up all night, that sounded like birds in the eaves of the house. Brian needs to look into this as it was very distracting.
I do feel that the label of 'luxury' is going way too far for what you actually get when you stay here, and it is extremely over priced. Brian would do better to lower the cost and be more realistic about what he is offering to guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just had a 2 night stay and we were really pleased with this B&B. Our host, Brian was very welcoming and friendly, the room was really comfortable and the breakfast was great with plenty of choice and nicely cooked. The B&B was ideally situated facing a park and only a short walk from the town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Denzil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from 4 days staying at the Big Sky B&B Whitby. Lovely quiet room although we were facing the road and had some traffic noise the other rooms were well spaced out so we did not hear other guests. The room was bright with a large balcony door for a window opening on to a small narrow veranda. The shower in the en-suite was set just right and we didnt have to adjust and controls or reposition it to work properly.

The bed was very comfortable but the big feather quilt was a bit warm for the warm weather we were lucky enough to have. I would have preffered a solid head board as the pillows did get stuck in the wrought iron open design. This didnt impair the quality of sleep though.

Brian the owner was very welcoming and the place was nice and clean throughout. Breakfast was well prepared and consistenlty good quality.

The hotel is easy to find on the roundabout as you come in from the Pickering/Scarborugh road jut before going down the hill in to town. Its only a 10 minute walk (if that) in to town and the railway station.

We parked up the car at the hotel and did not use it for the four days. This made a welcome change as we usually tour the local areas and find on our return its difficult to park. This time we took the Steam Train and used the hop on and off yellow bus service which passes the hotel. The garden area at the back of the hotel got the sun after 9-30 and was a nice place to sit after breakfast before heading off for the day. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice quiet base with a good breakfast to start the day and somewhere to come back to after a nice day sightseeing.

Room Tip: The annexe room and the ones at the back did not have any street noise but there were steps up to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorrieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our two night stay was excellent good host and hearty breakfasts. We were in the annex this was very nice although there was a lot of steep steps to climb.We will be going back soon It was also regatta week end so this made it a bit more special..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleyfarleyAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

BEWARE when booking at this B&B. We booked four nights in August, but had to cancel on the 1st July. We were charged £85 for the cancellation despite the fact that the room was quickly relet. This not a justifiable charge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just had four nights at the big sky bed and breakfast only one one word excellent. Brian was a lovely host we were near the harbour the room was lovely and a great en suite. Breakfast was lovely. No complaints at all

Room Tip: Lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from a short stay at the big sky b&b in whitby,the weather was rubbish ,but the hotel was excellent ,and Brian the host was first class,bedroom was large,with a shower and separate toilet,parking was never an issue which is always good in whitby,breakfast were really good ,hope to return soon,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony4sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prospect House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 53 in Whitby
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £83 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Sky Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing