We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot recommend The Riviera enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #19 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I cannot recommend The Riviera enough”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I cannot recommend The Riviera enough. welcoming , friendly, room 2 was clean and spacious with a great sea view. Breakfast was terrific. loved sitting in the bay window looking at the fantastic sea view will be booking again in the future :)

Room Tip: Room 2 great sea view and four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzer196947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

After all, you were one of our first guests to sample the 'New Look Riviera' so your comments mean a lot to us.

We are really pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Emma and Zed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    142
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
82
376
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were one of the first guests to stay at the Riviera after they closed for two months for their renovations. What a fantastic hotel!! Talking to Emma and Zed, they have done loads to it. The new dining rooms have sea views and it was a super start to our day eating our Full English Brekkie sat looking out to sea.
Emma and Zed are genuine, relaxed, friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. This reflected in the hotel as the atmosphere was just lovely.
Then there are the sea views...this hotel is in the perfect spot. The sea views are just stunning. From our room, we could see right over from sandsend sea to Whitby harbour entrance. It was just beautiful and we were lucky enough to have the weather too.
Our room had a big flat screen TV on the wall for my husband (!!) and seating in the window for me. The bathroom was new, clean and fresh and the bed comfy - everything was 'just right'. We asked to stay another night!
Thank you so much to Emma and Zed. Myself and John wish you all the luck in the world and we will most definately be returning.

Room Tip: Obviously the sea views are worth that little bit of extra money! They are just superb. What's m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Crosby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Emma & Zed greet you with a warm welcome,accomodation and food was excellent, very helpful people,i recommend the riviera to anyone staying in whitby, good location.......we will be back soon.....keith, ann & jim (liverpool). stayed here 01/03/13 to 04/03/13......thanks again emma & zed x x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.
Thank you also for your card, it is still on the reception desk :-)
Thank you for your positive comments about the welcome, accomodation, food, service and location and we would love to see you back again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for years and was very pleasently surprised with some transformations.

I used to stay in room 2 and booked again. Wow - the room used to be blue and is now cream, bigger and the bathroom has been really transformed with no sani-flow which was irritating to say the least. New entire bathroom suite which is so nice whe you wake up in the morning with a hangover.

The breakfast room has moved from the basement and looks great and i can now see the sea whilst eating!

May sound like i am plugging this hotel - I am i think the new alterations have been fantastic and will be booking again. Love it and thanks for a wonderful stay Emma and Zed.

Thanks

Room Tip: Room 2 is the only one for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Hi Pete

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We love having you back to the Riviera and are so pleased that you are impressed with the renovations. It has been a long, hard two months of work but hopefully something which our guests, like yourselves, will appreciate.

Brand new bathrooms, new waste systems (i.e. no more sani-flows...yeay!), brand new dining rooms along with a few other little alterations.

We very much look forward to your stay again in the near future and will continually strive to make your stay as special as we can do.

Thanks Pete

Emma and Zed :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Property: The Riviera Guest House
Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing