We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #21 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed on Friday the 12th of October, the room was clean and nice with a lovely view of the sea. Zed and Emma were lovely and helpful, breakfast was lovely and they even let us leave our bags after we checked out so we wouldn't be lugging them around Whitby all day. We'd definitely recommend them!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckiiee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for two nights during Whitby Musicport Festival with our band. Zed & Emma couldnt have been more helpful. On Sun we had to leave at 7am & Emma opened the dinning room at 6.30am & provided us with tea, coffee, toast & cereals, thank you Emma. My bed was the most comfortable I've ever had.Great location & views, ideal for getting into Whitby or walking along the sea front. Hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Remember there is no lift if stairs are a problem for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Ran by a lovely couple who are friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Great service great breakfast will definitely go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been re done and are such a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Riviera. Very straight forward check-in with Zed, and although I interrupted the football game, Zed gave me good instructions to find a local watering hole or 3 and offered to help me up with my bags (knowing how important football is to the male species, I declined). My single room was lovely, although my late arrival meant I couldn't appreciate the sea-view until the morning :( Bathroom looked like it has just been renovated, which was nice. I was greeted in the morning by a VERY happy Emma and breakfast was lovely. Views were great from the breakfast room. A nice short stroll along the sea front and down into the town. After seeing the tiny streets in the town, I really appreciated the on-street parking right outside the hotel, and didn't dare move my car all weekend in fear of losing a prime spot! All in all a great stay and i'll shall definitely be returning when the weather is a bit more welcoming to top off a perfect weekend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We enjoyed three nights of Zed and Emma's (and bump Zebedee's) hospitality at the end of September, this year. We had asked for a double room with sea view and couldn't have been more delighted with Room 3. My Piscean wife loves looking at water, so there was half a North Sea to look at from 'our' bay window! It was lovely to look at the boats, people and dogs going past, as well as the water, when we came back exhausted from our excursions. For various reasons we cannot walk far, but managed the stairs to the first floor alright, and even coped with the downhill walk to the harbour one day, but thankfully found the yellow Whitby Tour bus back to the Royal Hotel (next block - about 100 yds. away). We had delightful meals in the Luna Piena Restaurant down the next street, about 400 yds, away - nearly the limit of our walking ability - but well worth the effort. Zed and Emma were extremely helpful with local knowledge and were very hospitable. Tip:- if you manage to get a (scarce) parking place outside,leave your car there - you might not get it again! Perfect weather, perfect hosts, perfect views - we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Ring the Riviera and ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nadins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the sweetest hostess Emma (and bump) who checked us in and made sure we had all we needed (and more!) for our stay. Breakfasts were delicious and the view was stunning. Our room was spotless and was filled with coffee/teas etc - a perfect place to get away and look forward to visiting soon! Many thanks to Zeb, Emma (+bump) and everyone else that made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: the best views are from the top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely break. The room was very clean and the sea view was amazing. Only a short walk into whitby. Emma and Zed were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#25 of 152 in Whitby
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#10 of 152 in Whitby
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £74 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing