We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant views. Nice guest house.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riviera Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #21 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant views. Nice guest house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at the Riviera for one night in one the the four poster bedrooms. The sea view was brilliant the room was well sized and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and portion size good. It does need a little bit of TLC however I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    137
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
76
358
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

booked this through hotels.com, chose it because it was close to where my parents were staying (The Royal).
Excellent location - just near the jaw bones - and the views across the water from our 4th floor (no lift, 8 flights of stairs) room were lovely.
We arrived 3 hours early but as our room was ready we checked in. Parking was relatively easy (although some changes are afoot in Whitby and it looks like the parking won't be free for much longer - maybe the guest house will get permits, I don't know?).
Already mentioned the hike up to the room but not a problem, just letting you know so that if you can't face it you need to request a room on the lower floors.
The shower was cramped and the water just more than a trickle but the bed was comfy and the wifi worked a treat.
Breakfast was ordered the night before and no complaints there. Coffee refills were offered and the toast was self service so no scrimping there.
Maybe a little expensive for the room but I think we would stay again

Room Tip: Lots of steps to the 4th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We got married in Whitby last week and along with 11 other members of our family we stayed here for 2 nights. We were all made very welcome and the friendly owners Zed, Emma and their baby Zac were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they went the extra mile decorating the breakfast room and our table on the morning of our wedding. We stayed in room 3 which was lovely with a very comfortable four poster bed and floor to ceiling windows with sea views, as far as we're aware everybody else in our party were happy with their rooms too. We both had a full English breakfast, very tasty and cooked well. You help yourself to cereals, toast, grapefruit, yoghurts, juice, etc. and tea or coffee is plentiful. Can't fault it and would definitely go back, thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The positives were the people who ran the place and their staff, all very welcoming and pleasant. Location is excellent for Whitby, no allocated parking but plenty of spaces around. I am not sure if there is access for people who have accessibility needs as the front was a set of steps. The views are spectacular.

The not so positives was the bedroom stayed in and the breakfast experience. The bedroom looked recently refurbished but the finish was not there. There was dirt & dust around the wardrobe, light fittings/switches and the kettle handle. The cups in the room had not been cleaned properly :(. There was dust and dirt around the base of the shower unit and splashes of toothpaste along the walls near the sink. Not much space shelf wise in bathroom. The shower was not very powerful which I appreciate is hard to get with the plumbing issues in a Victorian house but took ages to shower. No complimentary toiletries as promised, only a half filled hand soap. Not a big deal but not as welcoming.

The breakfast was a little sparse for a full English, the sausage was reheated but not all the way through, bacon was tiny portion and the tomato was uncooked unfortunately.

I appreciate that running a B&B is very hard work but with a bit more attention to detail with cleanliness and breakfast, it would certainly get a higher rating from me. I would not object to staying again, maybe the other bedrooms would be better. Sorry could not be more positive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlotsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I feel a bit guilty about giving this place only three stars as I like it, I want to give it more, but it had a couple of big flaws.

I booked a single room through laterooms the night before. I rang the owner as I was going to be arriving late and he was really good about it. There's no car park but that didn't cause an issue; the welcome was genuine and friendly and I was in my room in no time. It was clean and comfy however this room is clearly overdue redecoration. Refurbishment has happened but the finish isn't great so if you're fussy it'd bother you. It disappointed me most because it could be such a nice room.

My biggest beef though, and it is a big one, was the lack of curtains. There were sun blinds up however these are useless at blocking out light so I woke at 6am despite being shattered. I lay awake writing a damning review in my head for 2 hours before heading to breakfast. What a treat! The breakfast really is very good and I didn't even bother with full English...they even had grapefruit which massively impressed me.

Overall a good experience but could be oh so better. The host was brilliant though and reading other reviews I've no doubt I was just unlucky with the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathwickdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for a one night break in March. This is the second time we have stayed here and it truly is a gem in Whitby. Room 2, very comfortable with a large 4-poster bed, floor to ceiling windows giving you the most amaxing sea view with armchairs allowing you to just relax and enjoy the view! Owners Zed and Emma are very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Breakfast menu is great (although partner not happy that no kippers!), but he didn't go hungry as plenty to choose from. Prices are extremely reasonable for Whitby, considering the sea view, free on street parking, hearty Yorkshire breakfast and great hosts. Planning a return trip in the summer and would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked Room 3 for weekend getaway, lovely room, bed really comfy, view of the sea was amazing from the floor to ceiling window. It's in a great position, parked the car up and didn't need it for the rest of the weekend, everything 5 - 10 mins walk away. Would stay here again If we were in Whitby.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisychainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Property: The Riviera Guest House
Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riviera Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing