We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitby Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #22 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thank you to Emma, Zed and Zack for another fantastic stay, its always good too see how hard you work to make sure all the guests have a good time. Looking forward to coming back in November.

Hope the recent changes to parking fees the council have introduced does not put people off visiting Whitby

Room Tip: Room 2 for an excellent sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for The Riviera Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent friendly family run hotel.Highly recommended clean tidy in great location. large comfy rooms with great views. Choice of breakfasts very well cooked. Highly recommended,Emma and Zeb are excellent host.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at The Riviera overnight whilst having a night out in Whitby. The guest house is well situated and has fantastic views out over the sea. The room we stayed in was clean and basic with the bonus of an ensuite toilet/shower room. We couldn't however get any warm or hot water to run through the shower but it wasn't too much of a problem as we were only staying for one night. The full English breakfast in the morning was tasty too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent friendly family run hotel.Highly recommended clean tidy in marvellous location. Very friendly service . large comfy rooms with great views. Choice of breakfasts very well cooked. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pick deluxe seaview
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank phillip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel with extremely friendly proprietors, Emma and Zeb. It is clean, comfortable and feels safe. I stayed here for a night with a friend and we were both very comfortable. The location was perfect for us with stunning sea views over the pier and Whalebones and just a short walk from the centre of town. We had a lovely time here and will be back! Breakfast was really good and cooked just as I like it and as I asked! We thought it was very good value too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YogionaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A lovely couple run this guest house. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and service with a smile. We booked it last minute on late rooms so no choice of room or sea view etc, however we'd go back again regardless of sea view availability. We arrived early but this was no trouble as the room was ready so we were able to check in. Our only critique was the room could do with a shelf or other storage for toiletries in bathroom but it would not stop me going back Zed and Emma are great hosts

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at the Riviera for one night in one the the four poster bedrooms. The sea view was brilliant the room was well sized and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and portion size good. It does need a little bit of TLC however I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £72 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing