We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views at Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #20 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views at Whitby”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our recent stay at Whitby gave us wonderful views from our bedroom windows of the sea and bay below, fantastic breakfasts and great kindness from Emma and Zed... and smiles from Zak. Zed was very efficient in providing the parking vouchers - the system is extremely easy to use. We look forward to returning to The Riviera.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Estivante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    145
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
83
380
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I cannot believe this is a 4 star establishment.
The place is run down, shabby and some basic things that you would expect to have were missing - an alarm clock, a phone, tissues, shower gel, shampoo. No biscuits with tea and coffee,
I'm not sure what the cleaner gets paid for but clearly the owners aren't checking on her work. The wardrobes were dusty inside, there was no mattress cover on the bed and my friends shower door was off. We were advised that the room had been empty the night before and the owners still let it with no shower door. Scuff marks all up the stairs and woodwork which was crying out for a lick of paint.


The breakfast was poor - cheap sliced bread, very little fruit and what looked like tinned grapefruit standing for days.
Although sausage and bacon was tasty the eggs were undercooked and watery and on the last day my bread on my "open sandwich" had mould on the edge!!

I think the Hotel Inspector would have a field day - please get yourselves sorted out -although we have no intention of returning.
It is true the owners were friendly however this does not excuse some important changes which drastically need to be addressed.
Apologies were given but I will not be able to forget the disappointment of this place and so I'm afraid lasting impressions stick.
Please don't go by the reviews stating this place is good - we did and we wished we hadn't.

Room Tip: nice views and ideal for the pavilion but choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aaquinn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are very sorry that you have had a disappointing stay with us.
I would like to explain from our opinion since unfortunately we do not agree with some of the comments you have made.

I would like to think that we do not own a 'run down', 'shabby' guesthouse since we have only last year had new bathrooms put in and new dining rooms. I don't believe we would get the positive feedback we do, and returning guests, if the guesthouse was as you describe it.

You are correct, we do not provide an alarm clock or a phone in the bedrooms since the majority of guests now own a mobile phone which they can utilise for such tasks. However, as is mentioned in the welcome pack, we are more than happy to provide wake up calls.
You were provided with complimentary shower gel and shampoo, if you would have liked more, we would have been more than happy to provide this.

Regarding the shower door, this was completely fine when your friend checked in. I, myself, was in the bathroom replacing the hygiene bags the same day you both checked in and the door was as it should be. We can only imagine that your friend has pulled the door outwards to open it when in actual fact it should be opened sideways as the rollers had been snapped. I explained that due to this, we have had to order new parts and therefore offered your friend the use of a different shower or an upgrade to a king size room, both of which she declined. To be honest, we can only go so far to resolve a problem and I felt offering an upgraded room would suffice therefore it has upset us that your comments are so derogatory when the resolutions were refused.

Regarding your comments that we use 'cheap sliced bread', we use Kingsmill Bread which I wouldn't categorise as 'cheap' and would be interested to know which bread you would have preferred. As for the fruit, we offer apples, tangerines, kiwi fruit, grapefruit and bananas, again, I would be interested to know what other fruit you would liked to have seen on offer. We would like to thank you for your comments regarding the bacon and sausage and are glad you enjoyed that aspect of your breakfast.

Due to your feelings on check out regarding your stay, we offered a discount on the price charged. We even asked yourselves how much you felt your stay was worth (bearing in mind the issues you were not happy with) and we only asked for that amount.
Bearing this in mind, your comments on this review have upset us considerably because a lot of the content we feel is either incorrect or quite unfair. Furthermore, you agreed on check out that the price you paid reflected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for one night recently and I have to say the B&B was exactly as expected and great value for money

Great location and views. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Very good value, got exactly what I paid for and would recommend this hotel or stay again in future.

Only down points would be that the shower had no power, drawers in the room were thick with dust (not that I used them) and the window opens fully out, and is only just above knee height, which was a bit of a worry.

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thank you to Emma, Zed and Zack for another fantastic stay, its always good too see how hard you work to make sure all the guests have a good time. Looking forward to coming back in November.

Hope the recent changes to parking fees the council have introduced does not put people off visiting Whitby

Room Tip: Room 2 for an excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent friendly family run hotel.Highly recommended clean tidy in great location. large comfy rooms with great views. Choice of breakfasts very well cooked. Highly recommended,Emma and Zeb are excellent host.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at The Riviera overnight whilst having a night out in Whitby. The guest house is well situated and has fantastic views out over the sea. The room we stayed in was clean and basic with the bonus of an ensuite toilet/shower room. We couldn't however get any warm or hot water to run through the shower but it wasn't too much of a problem as we were only staying for one night. The full English breakfast in the morning was tasty too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent friendly family run hotel.Highly recommended clean tidy in marvellous location. Very friendly service . large comfy rooms with great views. Choice of breakfasts very well cooked. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pick deluxe seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank phillip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Property: The Riviera Guest House
Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing