We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute credit to the owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #21 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice place, lovely sea views and very clean and tidy..
Breakfast was very good with a varied choice of cooked breakfast, cereals etc
The owners were very nice and welcoming lovely place to stay would recommend to anyone. an absolute credit to the owners and staff. I had a lovely chilled weekend just what I wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for The Riviera Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Positives. Seaview. Lovely bed and bedding. Lovely breakfast. Owners very welcoming.
Negatives. Room 5 basic . Toilet brush yuk. A bit dusty for example underbed not cleaned (sweet wrappers hairslide found). Skirting boards and doors need painting.
Would we come again differently . Negatives could be due to staff shortage as noitced advertising for cleaning staff. Not room 5 would see if we could get a bay window.
Thanks very friendly family b&b

Room Tip: Room 5 basic Worth paying extra for sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna55400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Emma,Zed and Zak are very helpful and caring hosts. The seaviews are wonderful - it has a wonderful location away from the busy town, but near the beach and lots of places to sit and enjoy the sun. The town is only a short walk downhill, or there is a bus stop outside the guest house. The breakfast is very good, lots of choices and excellently cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just had an amazing long weekend in Whitby. The Riviera is the ideal accommodation for everyone. It is in an ideal location, opposite the pavilion, right by the sea, close to the town but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle, the sea view room we had was lovely and well maintained. Emma and Zed were brilliant and made us feel so welcome, the breakfast was delicious and the whole place was very clean throughout. We will definitely be visiting again and wouldnt stay anywhere else! The Riviera is the perfect place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at the Riviera Guest House previously - think this was our 3rd visit! We love Whitby and love staying at the Riviera. The owners Emma & Zed are great and nothing is too much trouble. Their son Zak is adorable and likes to meet everyone at breakfast. The guest house has a very family run feel to it and is very relaxed. Room 2 has lovely sea views and is a very spacious room. The guest house is clean and bright and they serve a great breakfast with lots of choice. No issues with parking. We would definitely recommend the Riviera as a base for exploring Whitby as its in a great location and you get a great welcome too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My Sat Nav was not able to taker to the B&B which is on the sea front.
Finally lovely owner explained to us where it is and we realised we were parked 2 meters from it.
Communal areas are nice and clean. Breakfast was good and owners came to chat with is and give us an advice of what to do.
Room was big, we booked four poster bed (room 3) which was great. The view straight at the sea from two massive armchairs was great!
Bathroom had a big shower which I truly enjoyed, but room had a feel of lack of freshness.
I opened a window to let some fresh air in and after that it was better.
Despite this it was very enjoyable stay and I will book it again when going to Whitby.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Magda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we are going back to theriviera guest houseon the 29th of july and this time we are taking our grandson with us taking him to the places my mom and dad took us the riviera is agreat place to stay and you will be made very well come

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickanddenisewalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 152 in Whitby
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#26 of 152 in Whitby
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#10 of 152 in Whitby
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £73 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing