We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Riviera Guest House
Ranked #22 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay :)”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We arrived in Whitby on Saturday morning without having previously booked anywhere to stay. We noticed the Riviera displaying a vacancies sign and popped in. They had a double room available and the welcome was so polite and friendly we decided to stay straight away. The location was fantastic, only minutes to the beach/sea front and we had a seaview room which was lovely. Nice room, comfortable bed, tv, tea/coffee etc. The room probably needs a bit of a deeper clean - paint work was a little scuffed/dirty and the bathroom had some mould around the shower/shower screen but it didn't affect our stay and such issues are probably common for most guest houses at this stage of a busy season. Lovely breakfast on the sunday morning (with the added attraction of their super cute little boy). A lovely spontaneous break. Hopefully we will visit again sometime :) Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki9979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    141
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
77
362
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lovely family who own the guest house, we received a warm and friendly welcome, we had a large room, which was very clean and had a great view out to the sea, perfect location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed at the Riviera with my boyfriend it was a lovely clean place to stay the people that ran it were very nice and welcoming would definately recommend this. Bedroom over looks the sea lovely views. :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseaaaaxoxxoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

very nice comfortable guest house, very warm and friendly people who always have a smile for you, we really enjoyed our stay at the Riviera and the breakfast was really nice too, we will have no hesitation in re booking there when we go back........

Room Tip: bay window sea view room was brill, I havn't seen the other rooms, but if they're as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great littke hotel with an amazing location. It is up on the west cliff but 5 min climb from whitby. There are a lot of stairs to the top room but you are aware of this when booking and the view is with it, it is quiet. Parking is £1 for 4 days but you do have to find it and can be a few minutes walk away in season as I found although later got it close by. It is a friendly place and you do feel at home. My only disappointment was I got no wifi reception in my room and as a solo traveller I do like my wifi so that would put me off staying again I am afraid. The price was good for a last minute booking in season.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wow - people actually love this place??? Maybe it was just our room all the way at the top with a view of the alley??? And charming Zed?? He seemed to get a kick out of telling us we were all the way at the top with a "see you in a half hour" smirk. After 73 steps with heavy suitcases I hoped for at least a nice room. The ceiling was so slanted that my husband and son kept hitting their heads and at just 5'2" I could touch the ceiling!! OK - so it was cramped for 3 people. I get it - it's all about location. However we had no view and barely a window. There was no air in the room, no heat control and the windows were locked shut. The bed was so lumpy, and the room so hot I was in pain and could barely breathe when I woke up. After a very "OK" breakfast, my husband asked for coffee 5 times and never got it - we packed our bags and left. Don't stay in the "family room"!! In fact stay in charming York and do a day trip to Whitby. The gorgeous Yorkshire Moors train runs here now so you can make a stop.

Room Tip: Get an upscale room with a view. DO NOT stay in family room at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
I'm so sorry that you have felt so strongly as to write this review.
We were surprised as we were having a laugh with your husband.

When you checked in, Zed offered to take your bags up to the room however you refused his offer. When you came in with another bag, I said to you that I would take the bag up for you and your comment was, "No I don't think so." Therefore we feel the comments are a little unfair since you wouldn't have needed to struggle up the stairs with your bags had you accepted our offer.

The top floor are attic rooms therefore they do have low ceilings with the traditional beams. We have chosen to keep these in as they are the original features. Some of our guests continually ask for the attic rooms as they love these features, we are sorry that they were not to your taste.

4 out of our 15 rooms are rear facing however this is reflected in the prices. Since you booked last minute, all our sea facing rooms were already booked up therefore you were aware on booking that you had a rear facing room.

You mention the room was hot as the windows were locked shut. This is definitely not the case. None of our windows are locked shut. In fact, they open too far for our liking therefore we are in the process of fitting window restrictors for safety purposes.

The mattress was a new mattress at the beginning of the year so it shouldn't be lumpy. This is the first comment we have had regarding this so we will have a look as a matter of urgency and replace it if that is the case. We pride ourselves on our comfy mattresses and many guests state that they slept better than they have for a long time. Some have even said that they want to take the mattress home!!

You state that your husband asked for coffee 5 times and never got it. No one has ever asked for coffee this amount of times. I personally remember topping your husbands coffee cup up.

We were able to have quite a laugh with your husband who seemed quite happy, chatty and personable but for whatever reason you weren't happy to chat to us so we were unable to help make your stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I would not stay anywhere else in Whitby. The Riviera is run by a lovely caring couple who make your stay so memorable combine that with a grand breakfast and beautiful views who could ask for anymore.

Room Tip: Room 2 has lovely views of the sea from the bow window it has 2 comfortable arm chairs so you can si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SANDRA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Property: The Riviera Guest House
Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riviera Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Guesthouse is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The Guesthouse is a stone's throw away from the sandy beach & within walking distance of the town with it's vibrant fishing harbour, beautiful and unique shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions (e.g., Captain Cooks Museum, the Dracula Experience, boat trips & Whitby Abbey with its famous 199 steps). The majority of the rooms are sea facing & have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays & large white fluffy towels. The breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' bay windows with stunning sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Riviera Guesthouse's commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor, LateRooms & Trivago, the most recent being TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2016 & Trivago 'Rated Excellent' Award 2015. Riviera Guesthouse looks forward to continuing to uphold the standards in the months and years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing