We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why can't all B&Bs be like this?”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burnley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why can't all B&Bs be like this?”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Firstly, the Leeway is extraordinarily handy for the centre of Whitby and there is ample free parking close by. We found Garry and Karen to be extremely welcoming hosts, ready with a slice of cake and advice on the local attractions. The rooms are lovely - tasteful and modern, with all the amenities you could need, includingthe intriguing Tassimo coffee machine. The breakfast was amazing - an excellent choice, promptly served and really delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Leeway and would have no hesitation in recommending it as great value for money and a fab place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    47
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
123
927
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Faultless service from Karen and Garry, ideal location in the town centre for the main attractions and restaurants. We had the attic room named Hudson as all the others were booked. Karen advised us on booking that it was a small room with restricted head height on one side but with all the facilities of the other rooms ie: Tassimo drinks maker, flat screen tv and ipod dock and on-suite bathroom. Therefore the room was exactly as we had expected, with a very comfy bed and clean and tidy, so no probs there. The full english breakfasts were definatly as magnificent as has been quoted on Tripadvisor. We had booked a restaurant in town for an evening meal, when we got in from a day sightseeing, Garry informed us that the restaurant had called and had to cancel us due to illness of the staff, he advised us of a suitable alternative and called them himself to book us in there, at Greens which was excellent. Coupled with 2 days of clear blue sunshine for our first visit to whitby the whole holiday break was hard to fault

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezza0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

From the moment we arrived at THE LEEWAY my wife and i were made to feel welcome ,
we were sat down with a cup of coffee and a nice chat while our room was prepared .
The room was wonderfull , being roomy & beatifully decorated .
Our room was very clean & well equiped with a t.v ,coffee machine & a really comfortable bed .
The breakfast was lovely & they give you large choice with spacials as well ! .
We would highly recommend THE LEEWAY to anybody & will hope to return again soon !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Chose this B&B after having read other reviews on Trip Advisor and we certainly weren't disappointed! The location is just great. Within easy walking distance of the town and the seafront but not at all noisy. (Finding an on-street parking spot was a bit tricky but that might be due to it being a bank holiday weekend.)
The proprietors were friendly but professional at all times. Found the' what to do and see' information very helpful and comprehensive as were the 'eating out' reviews.
Great choice for breakfast and beautifully cooked. Our son, being a teenager, was very pleased with the free wi-fi!. All in all, a lovely relaxing break in a beautiful seaside town. Would definitely stay there again if we visit Whitby again and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveningmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Although we only stayed one night we were very impressed with the warm welcome (the carrot cake was delicious) and the appearance and cleanliness of the room. We enjoyed breakfast before we left which was one of the best we have received on our travels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Found on spec on the internet so had some reservations before we arrived. No need to, it was just as described and the room photographs on their Website are true to life. A very warm welcom from Gary and Karen (and 2 Bassett Hounds who we met outside but not in the Hotel). The room we used (Stoker) was a good size and put modern Hotel Rooms to shame. Breakfasts to die for and plenty of choice, along with a daily special that we have never seen before. Obviously cooked fresh and arrived at the table piping hot. If a stranger to the area don't hesitate to ask either Gary or Karen they have a wealth of knowledge. All in all an excellent B&B which we will certainly use again when we visit Whitby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at the Leeway. When we got there we were offered tea and homemade carrot cake which was very nice... great way to start the stay! then shown the room which was very clean and luxurious, told how to use the TV and tassimo drinks maker and told about breakfast, what time ETC. They now have names for all the rooms and a walk round Whitby which takes you to places the rooms are named after. Great fun walking round Whitby. In the morning we went down for breakfast and had a tasty fry up great way to start the day. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing