We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I spent four nights at The Leeway at the end of April with my mother. The service from the hosts was fantastic, and the information they provided very helpful. I especially like the daily specials on the breakfast menu - I recommend the Hawaian special. The food was perfect, and the home-made jams, marmalades and yoghurts delicious. Also loved the 'eating out' book - a list of places to eat out in Whitby with comments from people that have been to the various places. It made finding somewhere to eat in the evenings a great deal easier.

The room was lovely - well decorated and beautifully furnished, with very comfy beds. The drinks machine took a little getting used to, though the option for just water from it was very helpful. I would perhaps like a little more variety in the way of hot drink options, but I understand there limited options for the machines at the moment.

The location of The Leeway is fantastic - it's not far from the train and bus stations, but it's not right in the centre of Whitby. It's on a lovely road, and close to the sea front. We didn't have to walk far to get to the town centre, or the beach. The only thing I would ask is for the website to include directions from the bus and train stations.

Over all a fantastic weekend away in a beautiful town. Most definitely recommend The Leeway!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile_clarenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    48
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
125
935
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Leeway does what B&Bs should do, but many don't. Excellent service, immaculaty clean, good room, and a lovely breakfast. I had to leave before normal breakfast time today, but joint proprierter Garry sorted me breakfast to fit my schedule - service indeed!

Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzk6nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Good rooms, good breakfast and friendly owners. Well placed for North Yorks Railway - Grosmont 15 minutes or Whitby Station 5 minutes. Convenient for all Whitby's charming pubs, restaurants and lots of easy flat walks along West Cliff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anorak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

There are no faults with this wonderful B&B at all, From the moment you walk in the door your feel totally at home until the minute you leave. Garry is a very hospitable host, we never met Karen but her food was Lush. 5 to 10 mins walk to town and Whitby far surpassed my expectations,we will be going again soon for sure. If you want amazing value for money and exceptional home cooked food then look no further. We had the attic room which was more than adequate and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groomes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Having just returned from a great weekend in Whitby we really have to tell everyone what a marvellous B&B The Leeway is.
The welcome cup of tea and homemade cake just hit the spot after a long journey.
Karen and Garry are very professional and this is reflected in the high standard of the accommodation. Our room (Room 6, The Abbey) was spacious with all mod cons in this centrally located B&B.
The breakfasts ... well we defy anyone not to find something to their liking, try the specials.
We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Whitby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Lovely rooms and lovely breakfast within easy reach of the town of Whitby, which is quaint and small enough to explore on foot. For parking you have to find a slot on the streets, although quite busy this did not prove to be a problem. The Leeway's rooms have very high quality decor and Gary, the host, is a mine of information. Nice pub 50 yards away was a bonus. We have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKnowHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We have stayed at The Leeway now many times and every time it gets better. When we first stayed there we thought it was amazing and has continued to get even better after every stay. The welcome, service, breakfast, room are second to non outstanding!
It was my birthday during our last stay and my partner John had arranged with Karen & Garry a suprise buzz fizz breakfast and flowers which was brilliant!! And then later a little bottle of wine left in the room compliments of The Leeway for my birthday was a wondeful suprise.
We would definalty recomend The Leeway the ONLY place to stay in Whitby!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDeeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing