We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service,helpful hosts,alacarte breakfast,lovely room.”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic service,helpful hosts,alacarte breakfast,lovely room.”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

A little tricky to find ,as the streets have different names on either side,so get instructions.
Once there we loved it great place to stay ,host Gary very helpful on what to see all the local history and good places to eat. Rooms have all the mod cons even a hair straightener.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cook room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Placchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    48
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
125
935
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
yarm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Friendly well run hotel. Comfortable rooms with added touches. Fantastic reception with a welcoming home made cake. Great choice in breakfast that does just the job to keep you going all day. Thank you Karen and Garry.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YarmWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My friend Veronica and i had a really lovely stay here from 6th to the 9th May, 2011. What a welcome tea and home made cake and a lovely smile from the whole family. The room was spacious, modern, bright and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts were well presented and cooked, and straight away we were made to feel at home as Gary and Karen called us by our first names and were interested in us and our visit. We have already decided that our next stay in Whiteby will be at this lovely establishment. thank you

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

very nice guest house, great location for town, lovely people very helpful and pleasant made you feel very much at home, thanks again for the tea and cake on arrival.
Nice clean room, comfortable bed, nicely decorated.
Have to be totally honest though was disappointed with size of bathroom very tiny and no window so bit claustrophobic and hand basin was in the bedroom not in the bathroom.
But for the price paid the service was good. Not much to do in whitby but the town is quite qauint, beach very small, take a warm jumper cold on the east coast. Whitby do lovely fish and chips try the restaurant on top of the hill overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: book early to get room of your choice and decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank nursejules1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I spent four nights at The Leeway at the end of April with my mother. The service from the hosts was fantastic, and the information they provided very helpful. I especially like the daily specials on the breakfast menu - I recommend the Hawaian special. The food was perfect, and the home-made jams, marmalades and yoghurts delicious. Also loved the 'eating out' book - a list of places to eat out in Whitby with comments from people that have been to the various places. It made finding somewhere to eat in the evenings a great deal easier.

The room was lovely - well decorated and beautifully furnished, with very comfy beds. The drinks machine took a little getting used to, though the option for just water from it was very helpful. I would perhaps like a little more variety in the way of hot drink options, but I understand there limited options for the machines at the moment.

The location of The Leeway is fantastic - it's not far from the train and bus stations, but it's not right in the centre of Whitby. It's on a lovely road, and close to the sea front. We didn't have to walk far to get to the town centre, or the beach. The only thing I would ask is for the website to include directions from the bus and train stations.

Over all a fantastic weekend away in a beautiful town. Most definitely recommend The Leeway!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile_clarenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Leeway does what B&Bs should do, but many don't. Excellent service, immaculaty clean, good room, and a lovely breakfast. I had to leave before normal breakfast time today, but joint proprierter Garry sorted me breakfast to fit my schedule - service indeed!

Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzk6nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Good rooms, good breakfast and friendly owners. Well placed for North Yorks Railway - Grosmont 15 minutes or Whitby Station 5 minutes. Convenient for all Whitby's charming pubs, restaurants and lots of easy flat walks along West Cliff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anorak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing