We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Personal Service!”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Personal Service!”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Leeway. After a warm welcome by Gary (with a drink and homemade cake!) we were shown to our room which was immaculate, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Lots of attention to detail and Gary took the time to explain how things worked and gave us some useful information on getting around Whitby and places to eat. There's plenty of extras such as the coffee machine in the room, wifi and dvd player which made our stay that bit more special but I think we will remember our stay most for the great personal service that we received - nothing was too much trouble and we felt really looked after, particularly after we had a little accident in our room and Gary put our minds at ease, showing perfect understanding and going the extra mile to sort it out (thank you). Breakfast each morning was delicious with lots of choice and really set us up for the day ahead. All in all, an outstanding place to stay, we definitely recommend The Leeway to anyone coming to Whitby!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timarisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    48
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
126
941
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed in The Leeway for two nights May 13th & 14th and just want to say that eveything was perfect.
We were given a lovely welcome with coffee and homemade carrot cake which was delicious!
Our rooms were very spacious and well designed, everything was spotless and had so many little extra's that I have not had in some 4 star hotels.
The breakfast was great, even a choice of daily specials, the eggs benedict on Sunday was very tasty.
We would not even think about staying anywhere else when we visit Whiby again because if you have found the best why bother with the rest !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandralutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

What a delightful find at the end of our Yorkshire holiday. Lovely clean and friendly accommodation with a deservedly high Tripadvisor rating. Great breakfasts and warm welcome

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrootster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Wonderful first impressions. Warm welcome on arrival with tea and home made cake.
Very modern with an apparent clean cut image. The bedrooms were very spacious and clean. Large comfortable bed with good ensuite.
Breakfast was excellent with good choices and a host who could not do enough to please us. I could go on for ever and might seem over the top.
So to sum up, excellent accomodation, excellent food, and charming courteous hosts.
Without doubt the best B & B my wife and I have stayed in for the last 40 years.

Room Tip: They are all excellent, no need to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telfolksworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The reception and service throughout from the hosts was excellent. The room was very comfortable with lots of attention to detail with quality toiletries and drinks provided. The breakfast was superb, again quality local ingredients used and my mum who had the daily special was blown away with her mackerel bake - really tasy and beautifully presented. This B and B provides amazing value - we would definately stay there again, its a credit to its owners.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Leeway for 3 nights at the beginning of May. We were made to feel very welcome by Gary and Karen. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Gary gave us a run down of how to use the facilities available and how to get to the various attractions in Whitby. The bedroom we were in was very comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was wonderful. Plenty to eat and very well cooked.
Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmj4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just had a great stay at The Leeway and can find no fault with anything.

A great griendly welcome with tea & cake and then helped to our very spacious room.

The decor is bright and modern with all mod cons and the bed was very comfortable.
En- suite was spacious and the products were lovely (White Company) there were also chrisp white dressing gowns for our use.

Breakfast was fantastic and served on warm plates!!!! They also had daily specials if you diddn't fancy the full english.

Location is excellent and if you want to top off great accommodation with a fantastic evening meal book into Ditto's just around the corner. Best meal ever.

Overall a great weekend with top class accommodation, look forward to going back.

Glen and Trish

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing