We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitby Gem”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
dunfermline
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whitby Gem”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just returned home following 3 nights at The Leeway. Everything from the moment of arrival to departure was excellent. Friendly proprietors, smashing room and food. Hope to return!

Room Tip: As this was our first time at The Leeway it's difficult to compare our room to the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmondDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    48
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
126
940
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our 3rd visit to The Leeway...and yet again Garry and Karen were wonderful hosts and our room a luxurious delight to stay in. Greeted with a scrumptious slice of chocolate cake and cup of tea, we were instantly made to feel welcome and at home. Our room was again found to be ultra comfy, clean and we loved the new addition of a jar of sweeties!! A home from home....we love staying here.
Weather was a little on the rainy side (to say the least!) during our entire stay, so we were glad to return each day to the B&B and relax in the comfort of our room.
Breakfast was tasty and beautifully cooked...and service was top notch by Garry.
I can't recommend this little gem of a B&B enough and certainly would not stay anywhere else when visiting lovely Whitby. Thank you Garry and Karen x

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

For us Whitby is the tops and The Leeway is the gem in this wonderful resort! Its hard not to be repetitive with all the superlatives that have been expressed previously, best I can add is to say that they are all accurate and true.
We stayed for a long weekend in the Cook room - the bed was one of the most comfortable I have encountered in any hotel worldwide, and the thought of those gorgeous breakfasts was the only thing that could have dragged me from this comfort every morning!
Nicer, more genuine people than Gary and Karen you will never meet - they are totally committed to their guests needs - larger hotels take note!!
For instance, they quite rightly do not want messy take-aways (not simple snacks) in the bedrooms, but are quite happy to prepare a table for you in the dining room and provide the cutlery/crockery.
Thanks, Gary and Karen, for a wonderful weekend and we hope to see you again soon. This was the most restful break we have had for some considerable time!!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for 1night in april, the idea of our trip was for a night evening meal out and drinks, the only downside was we wish we could of stayed longer! The rooms are very well decorated and modern which was nice for us, and very clean! Breakfast was again brilliant. After reading reviews on here for this guesthouse i then decided this was the place i wanted to stay, eveything was excellent as i excpected and more. Very welcoming and i will definatley be coming again on future stays in whitby:)
Thankyou x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for a second time and was just as good as the first. Warm and enthusiastic welcome. Comfortable room and brilliant breakfasts. We were also helped out with the tide times so we didn't get our feet wet walking to Sandsend on the beach. If back in Whitby will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmj4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is our first visit to the Leeway...won't be our last. Having read the reviews about the place and looking at the website prior to our stay, we were looking forward to it very much and were not dissapointed! We were met by Garry, our very accommodating host, and were offered tea and home made chocolate cake on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are absolutely superb - spacious, comfortable and decorated to a very high contemporary standard with little touches here and there that ensure this B & B beats all others. We loved breakfast as the choices on the menu were terrific with daily specials included. I would not hesitate to recommend 'The Leeway' to anyone and cannot wait to return soon!

Room Tip: Request the 'Stoker' room if you would like a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great hosts, lovely room and simply a pleasure to stay. I don't think the photos on the website do the rooms justice. We went on spec and weren't disappointed. Felt very welcome and nothing too much trouble. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing