We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class B&B, just WOW!”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Leeway has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Spent 2 nights here with my partner, and without a doubt is the best place I've ever stayed! Was made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The room we stayed in was immaculately clean and modern, equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable stay, plus more! The weather wasn't brilliant during our stay so it was lovely to have such a warm, clean and friendly place to return, where we could chill out. Breakfast was delicious, cooked to perfection and set us up for the whole day. I would not consider staying anywhere else when returning to Whitby, and will definitely be recommending The Leeway to family and friends. Thank-you Garry and Karen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Leeway and can honestly say that it is the best B&B accomodation we have ever stayed in. Garry and Karen were brilliant hosts and made us feel welcome from the minute we walked in. They very kindly upgraded us to a better room at no extra cost, as it was available. However I could not imagine that any of their rooms would be of anything less than an Excellent standard. The room itself was spotlessly clean and decorated with a really nice, modern feel. The Tassimo drinks machine, flat screen TV/DVD and iPod dock made it all feel that little bit more special. My partner and I were in Whitby for a few days away after both of our birthdays and the first morning we went down to breakfast our table was decorated with "Happy Birthday" confetti and a bottle of Bucks Fizz and 2 champagne glasses. It was a really lovely touch and one we were not expecting. The breakfasts were superb and set us up for the whole day. They served the best Poached Eggs ever!! We visit Whitby regularly and when staying over we will not think about ever booking anywhere else after this visit and will not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family! Thankyou Garry and Karen for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just spent two nights at the Leeway and we haven't a single negative thing to say about the place. Gary and Karen were incredibly warm and hospitable, the breakfasts were top notch and the room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. They go out of their way to make your stay really pleasant, all the little extras make a big difference on the usual B&B experience. Conveniently located, this is a cracking B&B that I would happily recommend!

Many thanks, Chris and Lucy

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cthollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We love staying at the Leeway. It is our first choice when visiting Whitby. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Love the Tassimo machine in every room. Garry and Karen make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The breakfasts are great. Nicely cooked and lots of choice. We would recommend the Leeway to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wotsnewpussicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We've just returned from a two night stay at The Leeway and it was wonderful. Karen and Garry are so lovely, helpful and their hospitality was second to none. Our room was beautifully decorated with some fab attention to detail and the comfiest bed ever! Breakfast was absolutely amazing and the choice was huge. They definitely have thought of everything I'm looking forward to our next visit.
Thanks so much Karen and Garry!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Leeway guest house in Whitby.My wife and I were made to feel more than welcome.Our room was lovely,clean and warm and we couldn't have asked for a better breakfast.Thankyou .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigelcar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Friendly and welcoming with a very good standard of accommodation and excellent service.
The owners provide great attention to detail in areas most of us think about but which are often neglected by many guest houses or hotels. (Even the loo rolls were of quality standard!) Great choice of breakfast cooked to an excellent standard. Home made cake offered on arrival was delicious. Tassimo hot drinks maker in each bedroom, with choice of speciality coffee + teas, was a great bonus.
Location brilliant, on a quiet side of Whitby yet only a few minutes walk from the central area of the town and harbour.
We would definitely recommend the Leeway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonkaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing