We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leeway
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveller rating
1,395
51
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,395
51
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakekaren garrytassimo machineon arrivalabbey roomdrinks machinest marydaily specialsjar of sweetshomemade yogurtwarm welcomenothing is too much troublelittle extrasattention to detailplace to staycup of teaperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Always our first choice when visiting Whitby. We have stayed at The Leeway around 4/5 times now and have never been disappointed.
The standards that Karen and Garry set from the start never falter from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.
Garry even moved his car so I could park directly outside The Leeway.
By now we have stayed in pretty much every room. They are all very comfotable, well equiped (loved the sweet jar) and spotless. Thoughtful touches like cotton wool/buds and magazines all add to the experience.
Being veggies the vegitarian breakfast is delicious. Particularly love the fresh fruit, strawberrys,pineapple and mango to accompany ones cereal.
The Leeway offers efforless quality with the warmest welcome. .

Room Tip: Chose any room with absolute confidence.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It only rained for a few hours on 2 of the evenings, but it was windy.....

I booked The Leeway on a recommendation from my cousin who had stayed previously and upon checking Trip Advisor it also ranked highly!!!

After an awful 6 hour journey up in horrific weather conditions (return took just under 3hrs), we were able to park just a cars length away from the front door. We were greeted warmly by Garry with Tea and homemade Victoria Sponge cake whilst we filled out the registration form.

Garry provided fantastic local information on places to eat and a map for us as we'd never been to Whitby before. He took our cases up the stairs and showed us round the room and explained all the facilities as well as the reason behind the name of our room "The Scoresby" A nice touch for someone like me that always takes on facts for use in pub quizzes.

Off we went wondering into Whitby and within no time at all (thanks to the downhill gradient) we were in the heart of Whitby, so the B&B is the perfect location for nipping back between gales. We had a nice wander along the seafront, stopping off at the Magpie for dinner before coming back up the Khyber pass steps and through the whalebone arch to find we were just a few minutes again from the B&B.

We had 3 wonderful nights rest and the cooked breakfast every morning was superb, try as i might and despite the disapproving looks of my fiance i attempted to see how " unlimited " the toast was, as a rack was emptied it was replenished without asking, but i had to call it quits after the 2nd rack. There is a great choice of cereals and fruit should the "Full English" not be your cuppa tea. The homemade preserves were also great on toast, did i mention the toast???

The room was spotless, tastefully furnished and decorated, the Tassimo machine is a great gizmo and far more elegant and quicker than a kettle!!!

On our 3rd night after having an early dinner we came back to watch a DVD in bed, we borrowed one of the available DVD's from downstairs, only cursing that if we'd remembered there were was a DVD player in the room we could have bought one of the many we'd been bought for xmas but have yet found the time to sit down and watch.

I doubt we will be back to Whitby anytime soon in the future as we always like to visit new places, but we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone that's thinking of going that this should be there first choice for lodgings as the service and quality is 5 Star!!!

Oh yes and before i forget a nice touch was the bottle of fizz for breakfast to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Scoresby, but when walking through the B&B and seeing a vacant room with the door wide open, a quick peek in confirms there all fantastic high standard rooms like the one we stayed in.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesh740r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We chased away the January blues for a weekend with our weekend away to Whitby and our stay in this lovely guesthouse. Karen and Garry are really enthusiastic about their business and it shows. They seem to be continually looking for different things to try and picking up tips on their own travels. Hence the new toiletries this year and the lavender spray for the pillows. Both a success with us. The coffee and cake when we arrived was very welcome and the breakfasts were delicious. Be warned if you have the sausage special on Sunday mornings, it was delicious and huge! You won't need any lunch.

Room Tip: When we stayed here previously we had a room at the front of the building and did notice some traffic noise. This time we chose a room at the back of the property which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaAW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked for a three night weekend stay in January. Arriving we were welcomed by Garry with tea and excellent homemade cake. Much appreciated.

We were staying in the Scoresby room which had just been refurbished. The room was excellent, spacious and well equipped with a Tassimo brewing system, a good selection of discs were provided and some lovely Bothams biscuits to go with it.

The bathroom was nice and had an excellent rainfall shower with quality Beekind toiletries.

The bed was very comfy and we had a great night's sleep. The comfortable chairs and table made watching television or reading in the evening easy.

The breakfast was amazing. Cereal, fruit, home made yoghurt and juice to start, with plenty of toast accompanied by home made preserves. Superb spread of locally sources ingredient on the cooked breakfast, there was also a special to choose from each day, to be ordered the previous day. Between us we sampled the special every day and they were excellent.

You may have got the gist but we cannot recommend The Leeway enough. Attention to detail and great finishing touches make this a must-stay when visiting Whitby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Jester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went to the leeway with my parents after they had visited the year before...
Let me start by staying I am very fussy and there was nothing I could complain about...the room was amazing and the breakfast was of the highest standard I've ever experienced in a B&B..
I can't wait to go back for a week June 2014...

Room Tip: Book this hotel!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele131273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews