We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every little detail thought of.”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every little detail thought of.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here in February and left feeling very satisfied.

Everything has been thought of and delivered perfectly.

The room (st Mary) was spotless and went the extra mile with robes, coffee machine and even a little spray for the pillows!

The breakfast was vast and good quality and even offered daily specials.

There is a reason this place is ranked so high so you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwest86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    47
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
123
927
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here, lovely B&B. We got the attic room; perfect size for two people really clean and comfortable, and really nicely decorated. Lovely hosts. Really enjoyed our stay and breakfasts were lovely. Would definitely book again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Leeway from Thursday until Sunday.
I have been fortunate to stay at some wonderful hotels over the years; the Leeway has the kind of finishing touches that would put many to shame.
A welcoming brew and homemade cake when you check in from the comfort of a sofa makes it feel like you're visiting a friend. Garry is a genuinely considerate host. He makes a point of using first names upon every greeting. Breakfast is efficient, lovely tasting and beautifully presented. Garry is attentive without being intrusive.
Breakfast on Valentine's day was enhanced by scattered decorative hearts with the offer of a glass of Bucks Fizz.
Following our day out we found more romance in our room; a bottle of Prosecco and truffles!
It's the little touches like these that make this a place with amazing value for money.
We stayed in the Stoker room on a super Kingsize bed. Probably the most comfortable bed I have slept on. Shower robes, beautiful bamboo and cotton towels (wrapped with corporate ribbon on arrival), a Tassimo, high speed Wi-Fi and a great shower.
I would recommend this little goldmine wholeheartedly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thesiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for valentines, very modern , clean, fresh coffee and home made cakes upon arrival. Good location, room lovely , posh coffee machine in room( fresh milk would be nice ). Overall very nice B and B, prob best on the east coast .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lees1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We booked this accommodation after visiting Whitby over the Christmas period and noticed how welcoming it looked.

We arrived on Friday 7th February and were given a very warm and welcoming greeting from Karen and Gary. They were very informative about where to eat, etc and even have a book with menus and recommendations from people who have eaten there.

Our rooms were as described on their website, very warm and lots of little extras including a Tassimo drinks machine, and Sky TV.

Breakfast was a delight and Gary couldn't do enough for you. The Leeway is ideally placed for all amenities in Whitby close to shops, bars, and restaurants.

This was our first stay at the Leeway, but, we will definitely be coming back and have already recommended them to all our friends.

Keep on doing what you do best Gary and Karen! Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: I can honestly say whatever room you choose at the Leeway you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 197MSM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The moment we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome from Karen and Garry which continued throughout our stay. The accommodation was excellent and the bedrooms were superbly fitted out with all mod cons plus lovely little finishing touches that made us feel pampered. The breakfast's were exceptional and the daily specials were of a very high standard. The Leeway is well situated for all Whitby's amenities whether it be beach, shopping bars or eating out. We will certainly be returning to the Leeway and have already recommended it to family and friends. Karen and Garry deserve every success with their business.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Always our first choice when visiting Whitby. We have stayed at The Leeway around 4/5 times now and have never been disappointed.
The standards that Karen and Garry set from the start never falter from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.
Garry even moved his car so I could park directly outside The Leeway.
By now we have stayed in pretty much every room. They are all very comfotable, well equiped (loved the sweet jar) and spotless. Thoughtful touches like cotton wool/buds and magazines all add to the experience.
Being veggies the vegitarian breakfast is delicious. Particularly love the fresh fruit, strawberrys,pineapple and mango to accompany ones cereal.
The Leeway offers efforless quality with the warmest welcome. .

Room Tip: Chose any room with absolute confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing