We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time from the moment we arrived till when we left. Greeted by the very lovely hosts with a very welcome cuppa and a slice of cake! We stayed in the Hudson which is at the top of the house. Beautifully decorated and everything you need for a perfect stay. Slept really well in the very comfortable bed. In a great location very close to all that Whitby can offer. Wonderful breakfast too!! Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresaandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    48
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
125
935
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First time at the Leeway, 3 nights Friday to Monday. Stayed in room 2, Scoresby.The Leeway is a very clean,smart and well run B & B. Hosts, Garry and Karen have put a lot of work in to get things right,You would have to look very, very hard to find fault, All items provided,towels,soaps,robes,are of the best quality. This standard went through to the Breakfast.
The Leeway is one of the best B & Bs in Whitby for a reason,,Its Good. ( Read the reviews,they are true)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Having planned a surprise trip for me and my partner, I chose the Leeway due to the sparkling reviews left by previous guests. They were all true and more. The beds were immensely comfortable, the room wonderfully decorated, well furnished and with a lot more coming with the room than you realise at the time of purchase. The location is perfect, though in Whitby it is hard for anything else as it is all so close together. The hosts were as accommodating as they could be at every turn, being flexible to what we needed for our trip and pleasant in every conversation we had. Breakfast was delightful, with homemade conserves and sauces as well as all locally sourced food which told in the taste. I was slightly tentative when booking due to the price, but for what we got and how well we were treated it turned out to be a bargain

Room Tip: We stayed in the St Mary, but all rooms we saw looked equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday, and really cannot find anything to fault.
We stayed in room 2, Scoresby, which had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Lovely décor and an en-suite to match, really high standard.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Great location, only 2 mins walk from the seafront.

Both Gary and Karen have a wonderful air of relaxed calm about them, which clearly only comes from years of experience. This comes across in every aspect and makes for a wonderful atmosphere. The devil really is in the little details, and they have this down to a tee.

This is definitely on our hit list to visit again and again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzR_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Stather
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is our third stay with The Leeway , Garry and Karen have made this bed and breakfast outstanding every little detail is exceptional. From the warm welcome on our arrival with a cup of coffee and ginger cake to the detail in the products they use for toiletries and most of all the wonderful breakfast. The room we stopped in The Stoker was brilliant, spacious and exceptionally clean. Be back again soon .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina196305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We decided to have a random trip to Whitby for the night after leaving York the night before. While hunting for a B&B we stumbled across this lovely one. The owners were friendly and helpful, the room comfy, nicely decorated and well equipped. Breakfast was also delicious (we both had full English but there was lots of choice). Would highly recommend. :-) Thank you :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellyV78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly reccomend the Leeway we had a lovely stay one of the best b+b we have stayed in, with attention paid to the little extras which make you want to return. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed the option of the daily specials and the homemade lemon curd was yummy! Good location for exploring Whitby and Karen and Garry had lots of infomation for places to visit and were very welcoming throughout our stay. Great value. money and hope to return soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing