We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome!”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #7 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Couldn't have asked for better at this chic and welcoming guest house. We got a lovely cup of tea and big slice of chocolate cake on our arrival and a good chat with Garry who was really helpful in telling us the best places to see and who gave us a whole list of restaurants with reviews from other guests to check out. It had been a family birthday party the day before and so I happened to mention in passing that it was my husband Harry's birthday on the Thursday of our stay.
Room was lovely - spacious and modern and very quite, on the ground floor at the back. All mod cons including bottles of water, dressing gowns and lovely soaps and smellies.
Each morning there was a "specials" option on the menu which we opted for several times and each time it was something absolutely delicious.
The morning of Thursday (Harry's birthday) arrives and ... our breakfast table is covered in Happy Birthday coloured scatter decorations and there is a bottle of Bucks Fizz waiting for him!
We were so delighted!
Karen and Garry so friendly and helpful throughout the stay, giving lots of local info and tips for example on swimming and visits to other places.
On thre last day, since we had stayed more than 4 nights, we were given complimentary smellies in a bath bag.

We couldn't fault this lovely place and would not hesitate to recommend it if you are coming to Whitby!

Room Tip: We appreciated our quiet room at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. Excellent service and breakfast. It was easy to see how it had already received so many awards. The whole place was very clean. We would recommend it to anyone staying in Whitby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelH914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What can we say about the Leeway, just brilliant from every aspect.
From the moment we entered the front door, we were greeted by Garry, who kindly took our cases and took them into the dining room.

We were then offered a cup of tea and some of Karen's home made cakes, delicious, just what the doctor ordered after a 5 1/2 hrs drive from Somerset.

We were staying in room 2, WOW, every thing was spotless, just perfect. Every little thing had been carefully thought about, from cotton wool balls and cotton buds in the bathroom to the coffee machine with a choice of coffees on the Dressing table, even a jar of sweets. The room decor was amazing.

In the morning we went for breakfast, I must say it is possibly one of the nicest breakfasts I have had in a long while, all locally sourced bacon, sausages etc and the presentation was second to none.

Garry and Karen were very knowledgeable about the area, letting us know where to go and where not to go and all the local attractions. Garry was so funny, great sense of humour.

Just a shame we could only stop two nights, we have already made bookings for our return visit.
I can highly recommend the Leeway to anyone who wants to stay at a "cut above the rest" Guest house.

Room Tip: Room 2 is large and perfect for a quiet night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevied1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the Leeway following a family funeral, and very much appreciated the flexibility of our arrival time, when we did arrive a very welcome cuppa was served and Garry made us feel very welcome. the room " the stoker" is very comfortable, well decorated and spacious.
Excellent selection of breakfasts and tasted great!
Will stay again and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our third stay at the Leeway , we found that the high standards that Garry and Karen have set have been upheld , both in the great classy bedrooms through to the delicious breakfast , also the little touches of cake on arrival all knit together to make it a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You can check out the rooms on the good website prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time from the moment we arrived till when we left. Greeted by the very lovely hosts with a very welcome cuppa and a slice of cake! We stayed in the Hudson which is at the top of the house. Beautifully decorated and everything you need for a perfect stay. Slept really well in the very comfortable bed. In a great location very close to all that Whitby can offer. Wonderful breakfast too!! Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresaandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First time at the Leeway, 3 nights Friday to Monday. Stayed in room 2, Scoresby.The Leeway is a very clean,smart and well run B & B. Hosts, Garry and Karen have put a lot of work in to get things right,You would have to look very, very hard to find fault, All items provided,towels,soaps,robes,are of the best quality. This standard went through to the Breakfast.
The Leeway is one of the best B & Bs in Whitby for a reason,,Its Good. ( Read the reviews,they are true)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing