We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the leeway guest house should be 5 *” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #9 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
south shields tyne and wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the leeway guest house should be 5 *”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

just had another brilliant weekend at the leeway , i have been there twice this month and cant fault any of it , karen and garry make you feel so welcome and its just like home from home , you know the saying come as a stranger and go as a friend , well thats how i feel now they are special friends to me . the breakfasts are second to none and plentiful , garry is the best in the business when it comes to looking after you at breakfast , and karens a fab cook too. i have stayed in most of the bedrooms now , they are all spotless and they have memory matresses on the beds , which are very comfortable , flowers and bath robes and all the toiletries you could think off . its a very popular guest house , and gets booked up very quickly , so if you are thinking of staying best to book up sooner rather than later , i have already booked up for next year , im sure you will enjoy your stay just as much as i do , i wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else but the leeway in whitby mrs marcelle curry , room 4

  • Liked — everything couldnt fault it
  • Disliked — nothing , every thing superb
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    47
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
114
900
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
EastYorks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2008

As I am an ex Whitbyite, I and my wife have had many occasions to return to the town, and we have stayed in several Whitby Hotels over many years.
Whilst nearly all the Hotels we have stayrd in have been generally good, we found that the Leeway was above the norm.

The welcome cleanliness and comfort, all have that bit extra, which shows that Garry and Karen have put a lot of thought and effort into making their guests comfortable.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank WhitbyGet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We chose the Leeway via the 'iKnow-Yorkshire.co.uk' website as we noticed it was the only B&B in Whitby to be a finalist in the Moors & Coast Guest Accommodation 2007, and also the room's looked really nice and contemporary from the photos on the Leeway's website, which is a real change from standard B&B decor.
We booked into their attic room for a couple of night's mid-week and as soon as we arrived Garry made us feel really welcome. Our room was lovely, very clean and comfortable and everything we needed - and more - was at hand, from bathrobes to magazines! It was also really lovely and quiet at night, no rowdy guests or noises from outside.
The breakfast was excellent aswell, with cereals, fruit, unlimited toast and the yummy 'Leeway Grill', which was cooked to perfection (thanks Karen!).
All in all, a really pleasant and positive experience, we wanted for nothing and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Leeway to anyone and we'll certainly be back there when we next have a break in Whitby.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kurlymunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

The Leeway = Perfection.Every thing about the Leeway is first class from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave Garry &Karen are there for you .The decor is very tasteful and modern the rooms are clean and fresh ,the breakfast wonderful .i would recomend the leeway,and i would certainly go back .booking early is essential !!!

  • Liked — the big bedroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pauline1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

Our recent weekend stay at The Leeway was an extremely positive experience. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly, lovely decor and the breakfast was superb. Would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Drimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield woodhouse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

accomadation,hospitality and food excellent,attention to detail faultless, loved the bath robes.
highly recommendable

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing