We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So perfect... Again!”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #6 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Another trip to the Leeway, this time to bring our honeymoon break to an end. Whitby is our favourite place, and the Leeway is the best place to stay without a doubt. We love coming here - it's like home from home. Fantastic breakfast as usual to set you up for the day, lovely food, not forgetting the gorgeous cake on arrival! Garry and Karen are so welcoming, it's just like old friends welcoming you into their home rather than checking into a B&B. We will be back again soon. (5th time).

Room Tip: All the room are beautifully decorated and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deaneenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Always a thrill to get back to Whitby, my home from home. Always a wonderful welcome from Karen and Garry, a slice of chocolate cake a cuppa and a chat. A different room this time, shared by my daughter and a wonderful surprise as she had made use of the Leeways offer of flowers and champagne for my Birthday.As ever a hearty breakfast, Garry seeing to every need,a lovely start to the day. The room was perfect, and nice being on the ground floor. The new toiteries range excellent.The Leeway cannot be faulted, always such a friendly welcome, wonderful food and hospitality. Karens Breakfast specials a joy to try, I loved the porridge with Cinnamon fruits....it really is a pleasure to stay every time, Whitbys Finest.....

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, memory foam matresses, pillows always give a great nights sleep.Tassimo drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan7Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband booked our two night stay here for our wedding anniversary as a surprise and I wasn't disappointed. Forget what you think about the usual seaside B&B's, this is beautifully decorated inside and out, more boutique than B&B. We were greeted warmly by Karen and Garry and a gorgeous slice of homemade carrot cake. Karen kindly took her time to chat to us about local shops and restaurants. They even have a red folder filled with all the local restaurants and a sample menu from each, reviewed by the guests which helped us immensely when trying to figure out where to eat each night. In the rooms they have a drinks machine, a little jar of sweets (lovely touch) and gorgeous toiletries, shampoo and conditioner, shower gel and some lovely body lotion. Oh and lovely bath robes, another nice touch. Breakfast was divine each morning, none of the greasy fry ups you sometimes get, just beautifully cooked, tasty food, homemade jams and even little jars of homemade tomato sauce and brown sauce. It's a great location for exploring and has a lovely little garden at the front if you are lucky enough to get some sunshine while you are there. I could go on and on! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeny1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lost count of the times we've stayed here now, why stay anywhere else.
You're guaranteed a warm welcome from Karen and Garry, with homemade cake and a cuppa on arrival. We checked in at 10.30 am on our last visit in March which really maximised our stay. You'd be hard pushed to find any other b&b in Whitby with this flexibility.
The spacious rooms are to the highest standard. The drinks machine in every room offers tea, latte, cappuccino, hot chocolate etc. The toiletries are top quality and of all the places I've stayed I have never slept so good, the bed is so comfy. Breakfast? What can I say- outstanding. My partner Jeff tends to go for the full English, I prefer the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. The fresh fruit for started is delicious too.
If you stay here you won't be disappointed! we're looking forward to going back in June

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A big thank you to Garry & Karen at the Leeway in Whitby.
My husband, baby boy & myself had a fabulous time and the little touches in the room made it a home from home for the bank holiday break.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and they were always on hand for a chat.
On arrival we were greeted with the best carrot cake Ive ever tasted and a cuppa.
Our room (Stoker) was on the ground floor, it was a very large room, huge comfy bed, mod cons - ipod doc, coffee maker & tv, & en suite bathroom.
Breakfast was always scrumptious, good portions & plenty of choice including daily specials.
We will be booking in again in the future. Would strongly recommend, especially as prime location to the restaurants, coast line & harbour.

Room Tip: Room situated at rear of house, no noise except sea gulls in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fonefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Thank you Garry and Karen for making our stay in Whitby a memorable one, we had a great stay and a brilliant weekend, look forward to seeing you both again.
Great location and the breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble,
Thanks,

Ian And Helen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_d_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First time in Whitby and can not wait to return, will be back to stay at the Leeway without hesitation.
Perfect location, superb facilities and top class hosts.
Too many places to eat and drink all of which supply oversized portions and value for money, thank heavens for the seafront run!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3412Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing