We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab stay”
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Leeway
Ranked #8 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
drighlington west yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fab stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great place to stay. Lovely welcome by Karen with a huge piece of chocolate cake & coffee.
Room was beautifully decorated & so comfortable & lots of lovely extras, bathrobes, tassimo drinks maker etc. Breakfast was perfect, with an added extra of a different "special" each day. Also home made jams & marmalades etc. Karen & Garry are the perfect hosts & nothing is too much trouble for them. You both made us very welcome & would not hesitate to book with you in the future. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendynicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    47
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
123
925
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Cannot praise The Leeway highly enough. Everything was perfect from the welcome of coffee and cake and genuine warmth that Karen and Garry give with ease to our room with en-suite that was top notch. The thought and extra little touches made this a place somewhere we will return to and one that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kIB2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, warm welcome with home-made chocolate cake. Room on top floor (Hudson) small but comfortable. Small bathroom but adequate. Only roofwindow, no streetview. Very varied breakfast. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from the Soul Weekend which was fab, and made all the better by staying at The Leeway. Can't praise it highly enough, from the warm welcome, comfortable room, don't think I've slept so well in ages, and lovely breakfast with great choices. I've booked again for next year and can't see me staying anywhere else now. Thank you Karen and Garry, your B&B is a credit to you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived about six o clock on the third leg of our road trip coming from South Shields to Whitby and that Karen who we've just met says, " Would you like a cup of tea"? Well I mean what sort of question is that? Of course we do and so we settle down to a nice cup of tea and cake and a lesson in Tassimo operation, .
In the space of ten minutes we have learnt all about car parking, whitby abbey and top places to eat etc etc. To cap this amazing first encounter with that Karen she says "you've got two flights of stairs to your room will you manage"? I of course reply " ooh we've got a very heavy case" and pull a face. "Eeh thats no bother" she says, grabs hold of it in its vertical position and virtually sprints up the stairs and lobs it on to a case stand in a bedroom named after Whitbys St Mary's Church to where you have to climb ninety two steps to get there. So we are told.
This was the start of a lovely two night stay. A really well appointed room, nicely furnished with shower, TV, radio and dock and the vital really good bed with nice pillows and quilt.
Nothings too much trouble for these two and the breakfasts were ..... well whatever you want really. Really good sausages, bacon, egg etc and we loved the home made yogurt Garry.
It's not cheap but The Leeway don't do cheap and you get what you pay for and a lot more beside. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunnsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a3 night stay at the Leeway. This was our first stay at The Leeway and we have to say it was a great experience from the warm greeting we got from Gary on our arrival after a long journey to the amazing room (the abbey) we stayed in. The breakfast was perfect to start our day of sightseeing of this beautiful town. Both Gary and Karen made us feel very welcome and we will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: The abbey. Large room with great comfy bed. Very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our 4th stay at The Leeway and as always Karen and Garry were warm and welcoming. Beautiful room, excellent breakfast and very high standards. I cant recommend The Leeway highly enough to anyone visiting Whitby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieMacEachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Property: The Leeway
Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing